VisaGuide » Visa Free Countries » Visa Free Countries for Thailand Citizens
List of 40 countries that you can visit visa free with a Thailand passport in 2022

Thai citizens carry the 66th most powerful passport according to the Henley Index. This means that Thai nationals do not have visa-free access to many countries; to be more specific, they can enter 40 countries visa-free*.  However, they can also apply for an eVisa or visa on arrival in most countries.

For the remainder of the countries, Thai citizens must apply for a visa.

Where Can Thais Travel Without a Visa?

The following list displays the places where you can enter visa-free:

CountryAllowed stay
Albania90 days (from April 2021 to December 2021
Argentina90 days
Barbados90 days
Brazil90 days
Brunei14 days
Cambodia14 days
Chile90 days
Dominica21 days
Dominican Republic30 days
Ecuador90 days
Fiji120 days
Georgia1 year
Haiti90 days
Hong Kong30 days
Indonesia30 days
Japan15 days
Kazakhstan30 days
Laos30 days
Macau30 days
Malaysia30 days
Maldives30 days
Micronesia30 days
Mongolia30 days
Myanmar14 days
Palestine30 days
Panama180 days
Peru180 days
Philippines30 days
Qatar30 days
Russia30 days
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines30 days
Samoa60 days
Seychelles30 days
Singapore30 days
Solomon Islands90 days
South Africa30 days
Taiwan14 days
Turkey30 days
Vanuatu30 days
Vietnam30 days

Thai Citizens eVisa Requirements 

You need to have an eVisa for the following countries:

CountryAllowed stay
Antigua and Barbuda90 days
Armenia120 days
Azerbaijan30 days
Benin30 days / 8 days
Co´te d'Ivoire3 months
Djibouti31 days
Ethiopia90 days
Gabon1 to three months (single entry)
Guinea90 days
India60 days
Kenya90 days
Kyrgyzstan30 days
Lesotho90 days
Madagascar90 days
Malawi30 days
Moldova90 days
Oman30 days
Pakistan90 days
Papua New Guinea60 days
Rwanda30 days
Saint Kitts and Nevis30 days (single entry)
60 days (multiple entry)
Sao Tome and Principe30 days
South Sudan3 up to 6 months
Sri Lanka30 days
Suriname90 days
Tajikistan45 days
Tanzania90 days
Uganda90 days
Ukraine30 days
Uzbekistan30 days
Zambia90 days
Zimbabwe90 days

Visa on Arrival Requirements for Thai Citizens

 As a Thai citizen, you need to get a visa on arrival when you enter one of these countries:

CountryAllowed stay
Armenia120 days
Bahrain14 days
Benin30 days / 8 days
Bolivia90 days
Cape Verde30 days
Comoros45 days
Ethiopia90 days
Guinea-Bissau90 days
Iran30 days
Jordan90 days
Kenya90 days
Kyrgyzstan30 days
Madagascar90 days
Malawi30 days
Marshall Islands90 days
Mauritania90 days
Mauritius60 days
Mozambique30 days
Namibia3 months
Nauru30 days
Nepal90 days
Nicaragua30 days
Palau30 days
Papua New Guinea60 days
Rwanda30 days
Saint Lucia42 days
Senegal90 days
Sierra Leone30 days
Somalia30 days
Sri Lanka30 days
Tanzania90 days
Timor-Leste30 days
Togo7 days
Tuvalu30 days
Uganda90 days
Zambia90 days

Countries Where Thai Citizens Are Required to Hava a Visa

You cannot enter any of these countries without applying for a visa before you travel:

AustraliaGambiaNew Zealand
BangladeshGreeceNorth Macedonia
Bosnia and HerzegovinaHungaryRomania
BotswanaIcelandSan Marino
BulgariaIraqSaudi Arabia
Burkina FasoIrelandSerbia
Central African RepublicKiribatiSudan
ChinaNorth KoreaSwitzerland
ColombiaSouth KoreaSyria
Republic of the CongoKuwaitTonga
Democratic Republic of the CongoLatviaTrinidad and Tobago
Costa RicaLebanonTunisia
CyprusLibyaUnited Arab Emirates
Czech RepublicLiechtensteinUnited Kingdom
DenmarkLithuaniaUnited States
El SalvadorMaliVatican City
Equatorial GuineaMaltaVenezuela

Documents Required for Visa-Free Entry Countries

In countries where you don’t need a visa to enter, you still need a valid passport issued from your home country. Usually, your passport has to be valid for at least three months after your departure, but some countries may require passport validity of six months or more

You also need to have adequate travel insurance, and some countries may also ask for proof that you have enough financial means to support yourself during your stay. You should check the entry requirements before you depart in case you may be denied entry. 

What If I Want to Stay Longer In a Visa-Free Country?

If you want to stay longer in a visa-free country, you have to apply for a visa. First, you can apply for a tourist visa that is usually valid for 30 up to 90 days, depending on the country. 

To apply for a visa, you may be required to leave the country in question and apply for a visa at a foreign mission in your home country. However, this changes depending on which state you are visiting; certain states may allow you to apply for the visa from within. You should check with a foreigner’s office what options you have to extend your stay. 

*Please note that the number of visa-free countries does not include disputed, dependent, or in-conflict territories. 

Did you find this page helpful?
Yes No
Scroll to Top