VisaGuide » Visa Free Countries » Visa Free Countries for South Koreans
List of 118 countries that you can visit visa free with a South Korean passport in 2022

South Korean citizens can enter visa-free into 118 countries* and can enter the rest of the countries with only an eVisa or a visa on arrival. According to the Henley Passport Index, this ranks the South Korean passport as the third most powerful passport globally. 

Where Can South Koreans Travel Without a Visa?

South Korean citizens can travel to these countries without a visa:

CountryAllowed StayCountryAllowed Stay
Albania90 daysLiechtenstein90 days
Antigua and Barbuda6 monthsLuxembourg90 days
Andorra3 monthsMacau90 days
Argentina90 daysMalaysia90 days
Armenia180 daysMalta90 days
Austria90 daysMauritius90 days
Bahamas30 daysMexico180 days
Barbados6 monthsMicronesia30 days
Belarus30 daysMoldova90 days
Belgium90 daysMonaco90 days
Belize30 daysMontenegro90 days
Bosnia and Herzegovina90 daysMorocco90 days
Botswana90 daysMyanmar30 days
Brazil90 daysNetherlands90 days
Brunei30 daysNicaragua90 days
Bulgaria90 daysNorth Macedonia90 days
Canada6 monthsNorway90 days
Chile90 daysPalestine30 days
Colombia180 daysPanama90 to 180 days
Costa Rica90 daysPapua New Guinea60 days
Croatia90 daysParaguay30 days
Cyprus90 daysPeru183 days
Czech Republic90 daysPhilippines30 days
Denmark90 daysPoland90 days
Dominica6 monthsPortugal90 days
Dominican Republic30 daysQatar30 days
Ecuador90 daysRomania90 days
El Salvador90 daysRussia90 days
Estonia90 daysSaint Kitts and Nevis3 months
Eswatini30 daysSaint Lucia90 days
Fiji4 monthsSaint Vincent and the Grenadines1 month
Finland90 daysSamoa60 days
France90 daysSan Marino90 days
Gambia90 daysSao Tome and Pri­ncipe15 days
Georgia1 yearSenegal90 days
Germany90 daysSerbia90 days
Greece90 daysSingapore30 days
Grenada3 monthsSlovakia90 days
Guatemala90 daysSlovenia90 days
Guyana30 daysSouth Africa90 days
Haiti3 monthsSpain90 days
Honduras3 monthsSuriname30 days
Hong Kong90 daysSweden90 days
Hungary90 daysSwitzerland90 days
Iceland90 daysTaiwan90 days
Indonesia2 monthsThailand30 days
Ireland3 monthsTrinidad and Tobago90 days
Israel90 daysTunisia90 days
Italy90 daysTurkey90 days
Jamaica6 monthsUkraine90 days
Japan90 daysUnited Arab Emirates30 days
Kazakhstan30 daysUnited Kingdom6 months
Kiribati30 daysUnited States90 days
Kosovo90 daysUruguay90 days
Kuwait90 daysUzbekistan30 days
Kyrgyzstan60 daysVanuatu30 days
Laos30 daysVatican90 days
Latvia90 daysVenezuela90 days
Lesotho90 daysVietnam15 days

Please note that even though you can enter these countries visa-free, you still need to have a valid passport and health insurance. In addition, some countries may require you to submit proof of financial means and evidence of accommodation. 

eVisa Requirements for South Korean Citizens 

The countries listed below allow eVisas for South Koreans:

CountryAllowed stay
Angola30 days
Australia90 days per entry (one year validity)
Azerbaijan30 days
Bahrain30 days
Benin30 days / 8 days
Cambodia30 days
Co´te d'Ivoire3 months
Djibouti31 days
Egypt30 days
Ethiopiaup to 90 days
Gabon1 to 6 months
Guinea90 days
Guinea-Bissau90 days
India60 days
Kenya3 months
Madagascar90 days
Malawi30 days
New Zealand3 months
Oman30 days
Pakistan30 days
Rwanda30 days
Saudi Arabia90 days
South Sudan3 to 6 months
Sri Lanka30 days
Tajikistan45 days
Tanzania3 months
Uganda3 months
Zambia90 days
Zimbabwe3 months

Countries Where South Koreans Can Get a Visa on Arrival 

Here are the countries that provide visas on arrival for South Koreans:

CountryAllowed stay
Azerbaijan30 days
Bahrain30 days
Bangladesh30 days
Benin30 days / 8 days
Bolivia90 days
Cambodia30 days
Cape Verde30 days
Comoros45 days
Egypt30 days
Ethiopiaup to 90 days
Gabon1 to 6 months
Guinea-Bissau90 days
India60 days
Iran30 days
Jordan30 days
Kenya3 months
Lebanon1 month
Madagascar90 days
Malawi30 days
Maldives30 days
Marshall Islands90 days
Mauritania30 days
Mozambique30 days
Namibia3 months
Nepal15 days
Palau30 days
Rwanda30 days
Saudi Arabia90 days
Seychelles3 months
Sierra Leone30 days
Solomon Islands3 months
Sri Lanka30 days
Tanzania3 months
Timor-Leste30 days
Togo7 days
Tonga31 days
Tuvalu1 month
Uganda3 months
Zambia90 days
Zimbabwe3 months

How to Get a Visa on Arrival?

You can get a visa on arrival (VOA) at border patrol once you enter a country that is eligible for a VOA. Usually, for the visa, you have to fill out the application form there and pay the visa- the processing times will depend on how many people are waiting to receive their VOAs. However, to make this process easier and quicker, some countries require you to pre-register online or get pre-approval for the visa. 

South Korean Citizens Visa Requirements 

Nationals of South Korea need a visa to enter the countries listed below:

  • Algeria
  • Bhutan
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cameroon
  • The central African Republic
  • Chad
  • China
  • Republic of the Congo
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Ghana
  • Liberia
  • Mali
  • Mongolia
  • Nauru
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Sudan
  • Turkmenistan

Countries Where South Koreans Are Not Allowed to Enter 

Because of safety concerns, threats from the Islamic State of Iraq and the Levant, and Taliban threats, South Korean citizens are not allowed to enter the following countries: 

  • Afghanistan
  • Iraq
  • Libya
  • Somalia 
  • Syria and Yemen

Moreover, while South Koreans can visit the Philippines visa-free since 2015, they are not allowed to enter the following islands: 

  • Basilan
  • Sulu Archipelago
  • Tawi-Tawi
  • Zamboanga City

Can South Koreans Visit North Korea?

South Koreans can visit North Korea with restrictions only if they have special permission from the Ministry of Unification. For example, business people and commuters who need to commute from Kaesong Industrial Complex. 

Usually, an entry visa for North Korea is issued in a separate paper and not stamped in a South Korea passport- in most cases; South Koreans need to use a verification certificate and a departure card to enter the country instead of their passports. 

Without permission, citizens who have visited North Korea or any other banned country have been persecuted and jailed with a 10-year sentence. 

*Please note that the number of visa-free countries does not include disputed, dependent, or in-conflict territories. 

Did you find this page helpful?
Yes No
Scroll to Top