VisaGuide » Visa Free Countries » Visa Free Countries for South Africans
List of 62 countries that you can visit visa free with a South African passport in 2022

South Africa, also known as the Republic of South Africa (RSA), is one of the world’s most populated countries. Its citizens hold the 53rd most powerful passport regarding freedom of movement worldwide and can visit visa-free 62 countries*. 

Where Can South Africans Travel Without a Visa?

South African citizens can go visa-free to these countries:

CountryAllowed stay
Angola30 days
Antigua and Barbuda1 month
Argentina90 days
Bahamas3 months
Barbados6 months
Belizeup to 180 days
Benin90 Days
Botswana90 days
Brazil90 days
Chile90 days
Costa Rica90 days
Dominica6 months
Dominican Republic90 days
Ecuador90 days
El Salvador90 days
Eswatini30 days
Fiji4 months
Gabon30 days
Georgia1 year
Grenada3 months
Guatemala90 days
Guyana3 months
Haiti3 months
Honduras90 days
Hong Kong90 days
Indonesia30 days
Ireland90 days
Israel90 days
Jamaica180 Days
Kenya30 Days
Kosovo90 days
South Korea30 days
Lesotho90 days
Macau30 days
Malawi90 days
Malaysia90 days
Mauritius90 days
Micronesia30 days
Mozambique3 months
Namibia3 months
Nicaragua90 days
Palestine30 days
Panama180 days
Paraguay90 days
Peru180 days
Philippines30 days
Qatar30 days
Russia90 days
Saint Kitts and Nevis3 months
Saint Lucia6 weeks
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines1 month
Singapore30 days
Tanzania90 days
Thailand30 days
Togoup to 90 days
Trinidad and Tobago90 days
Tunisia3 months
Uruguay90 days
Vanuatu30 days
Venezuela90 days
Zambia90 days
Zimbabwe3 months

What If I Want to Stay Longer?

If you want to stay longer in a visa-free country, you have no other option but to apply for a visa. You can check with a local embassy or consulate in South Africa that represents the country you want to visit. 

Where Can South African Citizens Get an eVisa? 

They can get an eVisa to visit the following states:

CountryAllowed stay
Armenia120 days
Azerbaijan30 days
Bahrain14 days
Cambodia30 days
Co´te d'Ivoire3 months
Djibouti31 days
Ethiopiaup to 90 days
Guinea90 days
Guinea-Bissau90 days
India60 days
Kyrgyzstan1 month
Laos30 days
Madagascar90 days
Myanmar28 days
Oman30 days
Pakistan30 days
Rwanda30 days
Sao Tome and Pri­ncipe30 days
South Sudanup to 6 months
Sri Lanka30 days
Suriname90 days
Tajikistan45 days
Turkey30 days
Uganda90 days
Ukraineup to 30 days

How Do I Get an eVisa?

In case you hold a South African passport, and you want to visit an eVisa country, then follow these steps to get your online permit: 

  • Find a visa center. You have to find an official visa center of the country you want to visit, even if there isn’t one in your area, you have to find their official website. Usually, the eVisa application is posted on the web pages of the embassy/consulate. Still, you may also find it on the website of the Foreign Office of your destination country. 
  • Fill out the online application. Once you’ve found the correct eVisa form, you can start filling out the application. While you are putting in your information and details, you should have your passport near you since you must put down the data written on your passport.
  • Pay the visa fee. You have to submit the eVisa payment online after you complete your application. Some countries have fee exemptions- you should double-check with the embassy before your visa application. 
  • Download the permit. If your application is approved, you will receive an email, and usually, it has a document attached; download that document, print it, and take it with you when you travel. 

Visa on Arrival Countries for South African Citizens 

Holders of a South African passport can get a visa on arrival when they visit these countries below:

CountryAllowed stay
Armenia120 days
Bolivia90 days
Cambodia30 days
Cape Verde90 days
Comoros45 days
Ethiopiaup to 90 days
Ghana30 days
Guinea-Bissau90 days
Iran30 days
Jordan30 days
Kyrgyzstan1 month
Laos30 days
Madagascar90 days
Maldives90 days
Marshall Islands90 days
Mauritania30 days
Nepal90 days
Palau30 days
Rwanda30 days
Samoa60 days
Senegal90 days
Seychelles3 months
Sierra Leone1 month
Somalia30 days
Sri Lanka30 days
Timor-Leste30 days
Tuvalu1 month
Uganda90 days

South African Citizens Visa Requirements 

The countries listed below do not allow South African citizens to enter without applying for a visa first: 

AfghanistanFinlandNew Zealand
AndorraGermanyNorth Macedonia
Australia and territoriesGreeceNorway
BelgiumItalySan Marino
BhutanJapanSaudi Arabia
Bosnia and HerzegovinaKazakhstanSerbia
BulgariaNorth KoreaSlovenia
Burkina FasoKuwaitSolomon Islands
Central African RepublicLibyaSwitzerland
Republic of the CongoMaliTurkmenistan
Democratic Republic of the CongoMaltaUnited Arab Emirates
CroatiaMexicoUnited Kingdom and Crown dependencies
CyprusMoldovaUnited States
Czech RepublicMonacoUzbekistan
Equatorial GuineaMoroccoYemen

Do South African Citizens Need a Visa to Go to the UK?

South Africans need to have a valid visa to visit the UK unless they have the Right to Abode. Unfortunately, South African citizens qualify for the Right to Abode only if they have citizenship of other countries in the commonwealth. 

Can South Africans Visit Canada? 

South African citizens need a visa to visit Canada. The only exception to this rule are citizens who have a Right to Abode in the UK and can present a Certificate of Entitlement as proof of authorization. 

South Africa Visa Reciprocity 

South Africans can visit these countries visa-free, but citizens of these countries cannot enter without a visa in South Africa: 

  • Dominican republic 
  • El Salvador 
  • Georgia
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Indonesia
  • Jamaica 
  • Kenya 
  • Micronesia
  • Nicaragua 
  • Philippines 
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia 
  • Togo
  • Tunisia
  • Vanuatu 

*Please note that the number of visa-free countries does not include disputed, dependent, or in-conflict territories.

Did you find this page helpful?
Yes No
Scroll to Top