VisaGuide » Visa Free Countries » Visa Free Countries for Mexicans
List of 97 countries that you can visit visa free with a Mexican passport in 2022

Mexico’s passport is ranked 25th in terms of freedom of movement. So, Mexican passport holders can travel visa-free, with an eVisa, and get a visa on arrival to over 150 countries worldwide. These visa liberalization arrangements exist as a result of bilateral agreements between Mexico and other countries. 

Here is a review of where Mexican citizens visit visa-free or get a visa on arrival.

Where Can Mexicans Travel Without a Visa?

If you are a Mexican passport holder, then you can visit the following 97* countries without having to apply for a visa prior to traveling: 

CountryAllowed stayCountryAllowed stay
Albania90 daysSouth Korea3 months
Andorra90 daysKosovo90 days
Antigua and Barbuda1 monthLatvia90 days
Argentina90 daysLiechtenstein90 days
Austria90 daysLithuania90 days
Bahamas3 monthsLuxembourg90 days
Barbados6 monthsMacau90 days
Belarus30 daysMalaysia30 days
Belgium90 daysMalta90 days
Belize1 monthMauritius90 days
Bolivia90 daysMicronesia30 days
Bosnia and Herzegovina90 daysMoldova90 days
Botswana90 daysMonaco90 days
Brazil90 daysMontenegro90 days
Bulgaria90 daysMorocco3 months
Canada6 monthsNetherlands90 days
Chile90 daysNicaragua90 days
Colombia180 daysNorth Macedonia90 days
Costa Rica90 daysNorway90 days
Croatia90 daysPalestine30 days
Cyprus90 daysPanama180 days
Czech Republic90 daysParaguay90 days
Denmark90 daysPeru183 days
Dominica21 daysPhilippines30 days
Dominican Republic90 daysPoland90 days
Ecuador90 daysPortugal90 days
El Salvador3 monthsQatar30 days
Estonia90 daysRomania90 days
Fiji4 monthsSaint Kitts and Nevis3 months
Finland90 daysSaint Lucia6 weeks
France90 daysSaint Vincent and the Grenadines1 month
Gambiaup to 30 days*San Marino90 days
Georgia1 yearSerbia90 days
Germany90 daysSingapore30 days
Greece90 daysSlovakia90 days
Grenada90 daysSlovenia90 days
Guatemala90 daysSpain90 days
Haiti3 monthsSweden90 days
Honduras3 monthsSwitzerland90 days
Hong Kong90 daysTrinidad and Tobago90 days
Hungary90 daysTunisia90 days
Iceland90 daysUnited Arab Emirates180 days
Indonesia30 daysUnited Kingdom and Crown dependencies6 months
Ireland90 daysUruguay3 months
Israel3 monthsUzbekistan30 days
Italy90 daysVanuatu30 days
Jamaica6 monthsVatican90 days
Japan180 daysVenezuela90 days
Kazakhstan30 days

*Please note that visa-free to Gambia is permissible only if you have prior entry clearance.

Visa-free travel does not mean that you can simply enter a country; you still need to prepare the following documents: 

  • Passport. Your passport must follow the “6-month-rule”. This rule states that your passport must be valid for at least six months when you enter a specific country or after you leave that country. So, make sure you have an updated passport.
  • Health insurance. You need to have valid travel health insurance. Your insurance must cover any possible emergency that may come up during your visit to another country. Some countries have created a mandatory health insurance entry requirement.
  • Return flight ticket. Not all countries will ask you to provide this, but some might ask for proof of a purchased return flight ticket as insurance you won’t overstay your visa-free visit.

eVisa Countries for Mexican Citizens 

The countries listed here allow Mexican citizens to visit with a valid eVisa:

CountryAllowed stay
Armenia120 days
Azerbaijan30 days
Bahrain14 days
Benin30 days / 8 days
Cambodia30 days
Co´te d'Ivoire3 months
Djibouti31 days
Ethiopiaup to 90 days
Gabonup to 6 months
Guinea90 days
Guinea-Bissau90 days
India60 days
Kenya3 months
Kyrgyzstan1 month
Laos30 days
Lesotho30 days
Madagascar90 days
Malawi30 days
Myanmar28 days
New Zealand3 months
Pakistan30 days
Papua New Guinea60 days
Russia16 days
Rwanda30 days
Sao Tome and Pri­ncipe30 days
South Sudanup to 6 months
Sri Lanka30 days
Suriname90 days
Tajikistan45 days
Tanzania3 months
Turkey30 days
Uganda90 days
Ukraine30 days
Vietnam30 days
Zambia90 days
Zimbabwe3 months

eVisa stands for “electronic visa,” which is a form of entry permit that Mexican visitors can get by applying online, without having to visit an embassy or consulate. After an application has been made, visitors will receive a document they must print and bring with them when entering a country that issues electronic visas. 

Which Countries Issue Visa on Arrival for Mexican Nationals? 

Mexican nationals can get a visa on arrival when they visit the following countries:

CountryAllowed stay
Armenia120 days
Bahrain14 days
Benin30 days / 8 days
Cambodia30 days
Cape Verde90 days
Comoros45 days
Egypt30 days
Ethiopiaup to 90 days
Gabonup to 6 months
Guinea-Bissau90 days
Iran30 days
Jordan1 month
Kenya3 months
Kyrgyzstan1 month
Laos30 days
Lebanon1 month
Madagascar90 days
Malawi30 days
Maldives30 days
Marshall Islands90 days
Mauritania30 days
Mozambique30 days
Namibia3 months
Nepal90 days
Palau30 days
Papua New Guinea60 days
Rwanda30 days
Samoa60 days
Senegalup to 90 days
Seychelles3 months
Solomon Islands3 months
Somalia30 days
Sri Lanka30 days
Tanzania3 months
Thailand15 days
Timor-Leste30 days
Togo7 days
Tuvalu1 month
Uganda90 days
Zambia90 days
Zimbabwe3 months

Mexican visitors can enter the countries listed above without a visa but must get one upon their arrival in the country. For a visa on arrival, Mexican citizens need to prepare a few essential documents such as their passport, enough financial means to pay for the visa, proof of purchased health insurance, and so on. 

Visa Requirements for Mexican Citizens

The following countries require that all Mexican passport holders apply for a visa before entering: 

Australia and territoriesNauru
BruneiNorth Korea
Burkina FasoOman
BurundiRepublic of the Congo
CameroonSaudi Arabia
ChadSierra Leone
ChinaSouth Africa
Equatorial GuineaSyria
EswatiniThe central African Republic
GhanaThe Democratic Republic of the Congo
KiribatiUnited States

To travel to a country that requires a visa, Mexican passport holders must make sure they have a valid entry permit along with their passport. Applicants have to apply for a visa at a local representative office of the country they want to visit and provide several documents such as their passport, application form, visa fee receipt, proof of financial means, evidence of health insurance, and so on. 

The validity of a visa depends on the type of the visa; most short-term permits are valid for 30 up to 90 days, while long-term visas can be issued for up to 12 months. 

APEC Business Card Holders 

APEC stands for the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation and is an economic agreement that promotes free trade between member countries. Mexico is a part of this agreement, and its citizens who hold an APEC travel card can enter the following countries visa-free: 

  • Australia-90 days
  • Brunei- 90 days
  • Chile- 90 days
  • China- 60 days
  • Hong Kong- 60 days
  • Indonesia- 60 days
  • Japan- 90 days
  • South Korea- 90 days
  • Malaysia- 60 days
  • New Zealand- 90 days
  • Papua New Guinea- 60 days
  • Peru- 90 days
  • Philippines- 59 days
  • Russia- 90 days
  • Singapore- 60 days
  • Taiwan- 90 days
  • Thailand- 90 days
  • Vietnam- 60 days

The APEC travel card is valid for five years, and while visa-free travel is permitted, all APEC document holders must undergo a pre-clearance process when applying for the APEC card. 

*Please note that the number of visa-free countries does not include disputed, dependent, or in-conflict territories.

Did you find this page helpful?
Yes No
Scroll to Top