VisaGuide » Visa Free Countries » Visa Free Countries for Kenyans
List of 39 countries that you can visit visa free with a Kenyan passport in 2022

According to the Henley Report, Kenya’s passport is ranked 74th when it comes to freedom of movement. As a result, Kenyan citizens can travel to many countries visa-free, with an eVisa, or get a visa on arrival. However, they have to get a visa to enter 79 countries. 

Where Can Kenyans Travel Without a Visa?

Kenyan passport holders can visit 39 countries* without a visa:

CountryAllowed stay
Antigua and Barbuda1 month
Bahamas3 months
Barbados6 months
Benin90 days
Botswana90 days
Burundi3 months
Cuba90 days
Dominica21 days
Eswatini30 days
Ethiopia1 year
Fiji4 months
Gambia90 days
Ghana90 days
Grenada3 months
Haiti3 months
Hong Kong90 days
Indonesia30 days
Jamaica6 months
Kiribati30 days
Lesotho90 days
Malawi90 days
Malaysia30 days
Mauritius90 days
Micronesia30 days
Namibia90 days
Panama180 days
Palestine30 days
Philippines30 days
Rwanda6 months
Saint Kitts and Nevisup to 3 months
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines1 month
Senegal90 days
Singapore30 days
Tanzania90 days
Trinidad and Tobago90 days
Ugandaup to three months
Vanuatu30 days
Zambia90 days
Zimbabwe3 months

How Can Kenyans Travel Visa-Free?

Kenyans can travel visa-free with a valid passport if they visit a country that has a visa facilitation agreement with Kenya. Please note that some countries may ask for other documents when you enter visa-free. This may include the following: 

Kenyan Citizens eVisa Required

The following countries allow eVisas for Kenyan citizens:

CountryAllowed stay
Bahrain14 days
Cambodia30 days
Djibouti31 days
Gabonup to 6 months
Georgiaup to 3 months
Guinea-Bissau90 days
India60 days
Kyrgyzstanup to 90 days
Laos30 days
Madagascar90 days
Myanmar28 days
Pakistan30 days
Qatar30 days
Sao Tome and PrÃincipe30 days
Suriname90 days

Countries Where Kenyan Citizens Can Get a Visa on Arrival 

Here are the countries that provide visa on arrival for Kenyan nationals:

CountryAllowed stay
Bolivia90 days
Burkina Faso1 month
Cambodia30 days
Cape Verde90 days
Comoros45 days
Democratic Republic of the Congo7 days
Guinea-Bissau90 days
Iran30 days
Jordan1 month
Laos30 days
Madagascar90 days
Maldives30 days
Mali90 days
Mauritania30 days
Mozambique30 days
Nepalup to 90 days
Nigeria90 days
Palau30 days
Saint Lucia6 weeks
Samoa60 days
Seychelles3 months
Sierra Leone1 month
Somalia30 days
South Sudan3 months
Sudanup to 30 days
Timor-Leste30 days
Togo7 days
Tuvalu1 month

How to Get a Visa on Arrival?

If you hold a Kenyan passport and you need a visa on arrival (VOA), then follow these steps:

  1. See if a visa on arrival is available. Check the table to see if the country you want to visit issues visas on arrival for Kenyan citizens. If it doesn’t then you won’t be able to get a VOA and you won’t be allowed to enter that country. 
  2. Find the correct airport. Before you depart, check to see which airports in that specific country issue visas on arrival since not all airports do.
  3. Prepare your documents. You should also prepare a number of documents that may be required for your visa on arrival. These documents differ from country to country, but the general requirements include: 
    • Your passport
    • Visa application form
    • Proof of financial means
    • Proof of hotel reservation
    • Travel Insurance 
    • Proof of purchased return ticket
  4. Pay the visa fee. To get a visa on arrival, you have to pay the fee as required by the office that issues your visa. The fee changes based on your country of destination, the visa type and whether it’s a single or a multiple entry visa. 

Visa Requirements for Kenyan Citizens 

Kenyan citizens cannot enter the following countries without a visa: 

AlbaniaFranceNorth Macedonia
Australia and territoriesHondurasPortugal
BangladeshIraqSan Marino
BelarusIrelandSaudi Arabia
Bosnia and HerzegovinaKazakhstanSolomon Islands
BrazilKosovoSouth Africa
BruneiNorth KoreaSpain
BulgariaSouth KoreaSri Lanka
Central African RepublicLebanonSyria
Republic of the CongoLuxembourgTunisia
Costa RicaMaltaTurkey
Co´te d'IvoireMarshall IslandsTurkmenistan
CyprusMoldovaUnited Arab Emirates
Czech RepublicMonacoUnited Kingdom and Crown dependencies
DenmarkMongoliaUnited States
Dominican RepublicMontenegroUruguay
El SalvadorNetherlandsVenezuela
Equatorial GuineaNew ZealandVietnam

Can Kenyan Citizens Visit Italy? 

Kenyan citizens can visit Italy if they have a valid visa. Keep in mind that the visa requirement includes everyone; ordinary citizens, and service and diplomatic passport holders. 

*Please note that the number of visa-free countries does not include disputed, dependent, or in-conflict territories.

Did you find this page helpful?
Yes No
Scroll to Top