VisaGuide » Visa Free Countries » Visa Free Countries for Irish Citizenes
List of 116 countries that you can visit visa free with an Irish passport in 2022

According to the Henley report, Ireland has one the most powerful passport, ranked 6th. For this reason, Irish citizens can travel without a visa, get an eVisa or a visa on arrival to more than 180 countries in the world. 

Where Can Irish Citizens Travel Without a Visa?

You can visit any of the countries listed below visa-free with an Irish passport:

CountryAllowed stayCountryAllowed stay
Albania90 daysLesotho90 days
Andorra90 daysLiechtensteinFreedom of movement
Antigua and Barbuda1 monthLithuaniaFreedom of movement
Argentina90 daysLuxembourgFreedom of movement
Armenia180 daysMacau90 days
AustriaFreedom of movementMalaysia3 months
Bahamas3 monthsMaltaFreedom of movement
Barbados6 monthsMarshall Islands90 days
Belarus30 daysMauritius90 days
BelgiumFreedom of movementMexico180 days
Belize30 daysMicronesia30 days
Bolivia90 daysMoldova90 days
Bosnia and Herzegovina90 daysMonaco90 days
Botswana90 daysMontenegro90 days
Brazil90 daysMorocco90 days
Brunei90 daysNamibia3 months
BulgariaFreedom of movementNetherlandsFreedom of movement
Canada6 monthsNicaragua90 days
Cape Verde30 daysNorth Macedonia90 days
Chile90 daysNorwayFreedom of movement
Colombia90 daysPalestine30 days
Costa Rica90 daysPanama180 days
CroatiaFreedom of movementParaguay90 days
CyprusFreedom of movementPeru183 days
Czech RepublicFreedom of movementPhilippines30 days
DenmarkFreedom of movementPolandFreedom of movement
Dominica6 monthsPortugalFreedom of movement
Dominican Republic30 daysQatar30 days
Ecuador90 daysRomaniaFreedom of movement
El Salvador3 monthsSaint Kitts and Nevis3 months
EstoniaFreedom of movementSaint Lucia6 weeks
Eswatini30 daysSaint Vincent and the Grenadines1 month
Fiji4 monthsSamoa60 days
FinlandFreedom of movementSan Marino90 days
FranceFreedom of movementSao Tome and Principe15 days
Gambia90 daysSenegal90 days
Georgia1 yearSerbia90 days
GermanyFreedom of movementSingapore90 days
GreeceFreedom of movementSlovakiaFreedom of movement
Grenada3 monthsSloveniaFreedom of movement
Guatemala90 daysSouth Africa90 days
Guyana3 monthsSpainFreedom of movement
Haiti90 daysSwedenFreedom of movement
Honduras3 monthsSwitzerlandFreedom of movement
Hong Kong90 daysTaiwan90 days
HungaryFreedom of movementThailand30 days
IcelandFreedom of movementTrinidad and Tobago
Indonesia30 daysTunisia3 months
Israel3 monthsTurkey90 days
ItalyFreedom of movementUkraine90 days
Jamaica90 daysUnited KingdomFreedom of movement
Kazakhstan30 daysUruguay90 days
Kiribati30 daysUzbekistan30 days
South Korea90 daysVanuatu30 days
Kosovo90 daysVatican90 days
Kyrgyzstan60 daysVenezuela90 days
LatviaFreedom of movementZambia90 days
United States90 days

In countries where you have freedom of movement, you need to have a valid ID card with you while you travel. However, for any other visa-free country, you must have a valid passport, between three and six months, in addition to valid travel health insurance. 

eVisa Countries for Irish Passport Holders 

If you are an Irish citizen, you can get an eVisa for the following countries:

CountryAllowed stay
Angola30 days
Australia90 days
Azerbaijan30 days
Bahrain3 months
Benin30 days / 8 days
Cambodia30 days
Co´te d'Ivoire3 months
Djibouti31 days
Egypt30 days
Ethiopiaup to 90 days
Gabon90 days
Guinea90 days
Guinea-Bissau90 days
India60 days
Kenya3 months
Kuwait3 months
Laos30 days
Madagascar90 days
Malawi90 days
Myanmar28 days
New Zealand3 months
Oman30 days
Pakistan30 days
Papua New Guinea60 days
Russia16 days
Rwanda30 days
Saudi Arabia90 days
South Sudanup to 6 months
Sri Lanka30 days
Suriname90 days
Tanzania3 months
Vietnam30 days
Zimbabwe3 months

To get an eVisa, you don’t have to visit an embassy or consulate; you can complete the entire application online- including the visa payment. But, you have to prepare digital files of your documents to attach them to your application; you will receive step-by-step instructions on how to submit your documents when you begin your application. 

Where Can Irish Passport Holders Get a Visa on Arrival?

With an Irish passport, the countries listed below will grant you a visa on arrival:

CountryAllowed stay
Bahrain3 months
Bangladesh30 days
Benin30 days / 8 days
Burkina Faso1 month
Cambodia30 days
Comoros45 days
Egypt30 days
Ethiopiaup to 90 days
Gabon90 days
Guinea-Bissau90 days
Iran30 days
Jordan6 months
Kenya3 months
Kuwait3 months
Laos30 days
Lebanon1 month
Madagascar90 days
Malawi90 days
Maldives30 days
Mauritania30 days
Mongolia30 days
Mozambique30 days
Nepal90 days
Palau30 days
Papua New Guinea60 days
Rwanda30 days
Saudi Arabia90 days
Seychelles3 months
Sierra Leone1 month
Solomon Islands3 months
Somalia30 days
Sri Lanka30 days
Tajikistan45 days
Tanzania3 months
Timor-Leste90 days
Togo7 days
Tonga31 days
Tuvalu1 month
Uganda3 months
United Arab Emirates30 days
Zimbabwe3 months

This type of visa is issued at the airport once you enter your destination country. There is usually a separate booth for the visa, and there you will receive the visa application form. However, you must have some documents with you that include the following: 

Visa Requirements for Irish Citizens

You must apply for a visa before visiting any of the following countries if you hold an Irish passport:    

  • Afghanistan
  • Algeria
  • Bhutan
  • Burundi
  • Cameroon
  • Chad
  • China
  • Cuba
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Ghana
  • Iraq
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Mali
  • Nauru
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • North Korea
  • Republic of the Congo
  • Sudan
  • Syria
  • The central African Republic
  • The Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Turkmenistan
  • Yemen

The process of obtaining a visitor’s visa may differ from country to country, but you must usually go through the following steps: 

  • Find a visa office. Visas are issued mainly by consulates or embassies, but sometimes there might be another official visa office representing your destination country. So, make sure you locate the appropriate visa authority and then make an appointment to submit your application.
  • Prepare your documents. Along with the application form, you have to provide several documents, including your passport, photographs, financial statements, proof of accommodation, etc. Once your documents are assembled, you can submit them to the embassy/consulate.
  • Pay the visa fee. To process your application, you will need to pay the visa fee, the amount of which varies depending on your destination country. Some embassies require you to pay the fee when you attend your appointment. 
  • Get your visa. Once you submit your application, it will take a few weeks up to months until it’s finished processing. After receiving your visa, you can freely enter the country you want to visit, but you must stay only while your visa is valid. 

Please note that if you want to visit some of the countries above, you may do so only through a group visit. For example, if you want to visit North Korea, you must find an authorized travel agency that will apply for your visa on your behalf— the same applies to Bhutan as well. 

Did you find this page helpful?
Yes No
Scroll to Top