In 2016, roughly 73.6 billion euros were spent by the German residents on travelling abroad. Preferred travel destinations of the German citizens were Austria and Netherlands.

Nevertheless, some countries don’t yet to recognize the German passport as an entry permit, so they apply also a visa regime towards its holders.

Visa Free Countries for Germans

The majority of world countries can be visited by the Germans only by holding a valid German passport. Traveling to such countries, thus, is very much simpler compared to the visa regime countries.

Here are the 145 world countries that can be visited by German citizens without a visa:

CountryAllowed stay
Albania90 days
Antigua and Barbuda6 months
Argentina90 days
Armenia180 days
Bahamas3 months
Barbados6 months
Belarus30 days
Belize1 month
Bolivia90 days
Bosnia and Herzegovina90 days
Botswana90 days
Brazil90 days
Brunei90 days
Canada6 months
Cape Verde30 days
Chile90 days
Colombia180 days
Costa Rica90 days
Czech Republic*
Dominica90 days
Dominican Republic90 days
Ecuador90 days
El Salvador3 months
Eswatini30 days
Fiji4 months
Gambia90 days
Georgia1 year
Grenada3 months
Guatemala90 days
Guyana3 months
Haiti90 days
Honduras3 months
Indonesia30 days
Jamaica90 days
Japan90 days
Kazakhstan30 days
Kiribati90 days
Kosovo90 days
South Korea90 days
Kyrgyzstan60 days
Lesotho14 days
Malaysia3 months
Marshall Islands90 days
Mauritius90 days
Mexico180 days
Micronesia90 days
Moldova90 days
Mongolia30 days
Montenegro90 days
Morocco90 days
Namibia3 months
Nicaragua90 days
North Macedonia90 days
Oman14 days
Palau90 days
Panama180 days
Paraguay90 days
Peru90 days
Philippines30 days
Qatar90 days
Saint Kitts and Nevis3 months
Saint Lucia90 days
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines90 days
Samoa90 days
San Marino
Sao Tome and Principe15 days
Senegal90 days
Serbia90 days
Seychelles3 months
Singapore90 days
Solomon Islands90 days
South Africa90 days
Thailand30 days
Timor-Leste90 days
Tonga90 days
Trinidad and Tobago90 days
Tunisia4 months
Turkey3 months
Tuvalu90 days
Ukraine90 days
United Arab Emirates90 days
United Kingdom6 months
United States90 days
Uruguay90 days
Uzbekistan30 days
Vanuatu90 days
Vatican City
Venezuela90 days
Vietnam15 days

Countries Requiring Visa on Arrival or eVisas for German Citizens

Certain countries have abandoned the classic visa requirements where you have to get the visa early before traveling. They have replaced them with a visa taken at the borders of the country by the immigration staff, known as a visa on arrival. For traveling to few foreign countries, Germans are required to obtain an electronic travel authorization (eTA) beforehand, through a simple online application procedure.

CountryVisa requirementAllowed stay
AngolaeVisa30 days
AustraliaeVisitor90 days
AzerbaijaneVisa30 days
BahraineVisa / Visa on arrival14 days
BangladeshVisa on arrival30 days
BenineVisa / Visa on arrival30 days/8 days
Burkina FasoVisa on arrival1 month
CambodiaeVisa / Visa on arrival30 days
ComorosVisa on arrival45 days
Côte d'IvoireeVisa3 months
DjiboutieVisa31 days
EgypteVisa / Visa on arrival30 days
EthiopiaeVisa / Visa on arrivalup to 90 days
GaboneVisa / Visa on arrival90 days
GuineaeVisa90 days
Guinea-BissaueVisa / Visa on arrival90 days
IndiaeVisa60 days
IraneVisa / Visa on arrival30 days
IraqVisa on arrival60 days
JordanFree visa on arrival
KenyaeVisa3 months
KuwaiteVisa / Visa on arrival3 months
LaoseVisa / Visa on arrival30 days
LebanonVisa on arrival1 month
MadagascareVisa / Visa on arrival90 days
MalawieVisa / Visa on arrival
MaldivesVisa on arrival30 days
MauritaniaVisa on arrival
MozambiqueVisa on arrival30 days
MyanmareVisa / Visa on arrival28 days
NepalVisa on arrival90 days
New ZealandElectronic Travel Authority3 months
PakistanElectronic Travel Authorization
Papua New GuineaeVisa / Free visa on arrival60 days
RussiaeVisa16 days
RwandaeVisa / Visa on arrival30 days
Saudi ArabiaeVisa / Visa on arrival90 days
Sierra LeoneVisa on arrival
SomaliaVisa on arrival
South SudanElectronic Visa
Sri LankaeVisa / Visa on arrival30 days
SurinameE-tourist card90 days
TajikistanVisa on arrival45 days
TanzaniaeVisa / Visa on arrival3 months
TogoVisa on arrival7 days
UgandaeVisa / Visa on arrival
ZambiaeVisa / Visa on arrival90 days
ZimbabweeVisa / Visa on arrival3 months

Countries With Visa Regimes Towards the Germans

Apart from the main percentage of the world countries, there are remaining states which have retained the visa regime towards German nationals.

Thus, for visiting such countries a German passport holder should obtain a visa at the consular service abroad, usually to be stamped on a blank page of their passport, early enough before traveling.

Every country has its own visa requirements, usually accessible on the official website of the respective country’s embassy in Germany.

The following 25 countries apply a visa regime towards all the holders of German passports coming to visit their territory:

  • Afghanistan
  • Algeria
  • Bhutan
  • Burundi
  • Cameroon
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • China
  • Republic of the Congo
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Cuba
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Ghana
  • North Korea
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Mali
  • Nauru
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Sudan
  • Syria
  • Turkmenistan
  • Yemen

Countries That Use EURO Currency

There are 18 foreign countries where you can pay with Euro currency, used as the official local currency. This includes Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia and Spain.

Further countries and territories recognizing Euro as their main currency are the Azores, the Canaries, Ceuta and Melilla, French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Madeira, Martinique, Mayotte, Réunion, Saint Barthélemy, and Saint Pierre and Miquelon, Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and Vatican City.

Moreover, two countries outside the EU also use the Euro as their currency: Kosovo and Montenegro.

Passport Validity Requirements for German Citizens

Commonly, German travelers to overseas countries are required to possess at least 3 to 6 months remaining validity period on their passports, beyond the period of their visit.

Return/Onward Travel Ticket

Most of the countries you will attempt to visit require from you to have a return or onward travel ticket when you enter the country.