Do I Need a Visa to Travel to the USA?

Citizens of most of the world countries must get a US visa to travel to the USA.

//Do I Need a Visa for USA?
Do I Need a Visa for USA? 2019-08-26T08:50:49+00:00

Everyone’s dream is to visit America at least once in a lifetime. Yet, in order to accomplish that dream many foreigners are required to undergo some lengthy procedures of obtaining a US visa.

Citizens of most of the world countries must get a specific US visa before they can enter, stay temporarily, or settle in the territory of the USA.

The visa type issued depends on the purpose of travel to the USA, varying between tourism, work, study, business or immigration. Based on that, there exist non-immigrant and immigrant visas.

However, there are some nationals who are exempt from the visa rules because they either are part of a visa-free program such as the Visa Waiver Program or are completely exempt from any authorization to enter the US.

List of Countries Whose Citizens Need a Visa to Enter USA

As we have already said, the vast majority of worldwide nationals are required to have a visa if they wish to go to the USA. In the following list, there are the 156 countries whose nationals must have a visa to enter the territory of the USA:

AngolaAntigua and BarbudaArgentina
Bosnia and HerzegovinaBotswanaBrazil
BulgariaBurkina FasoBurundi
CambodiaCameroonCape Verde
Central African RepublicChadChina
ColombiaComorosCongo Democratic Republic
Costa RicaCote d’IvoireCroatia
DominicaDominican RepublicEast Timor
EcuadorEgyptEl Salvador
Equatorial GuineaEritreaEthiopia
Federated States of MicronesiaFijiGabon
Guinea BissauGuyanaHaiti
PanamaPapua New GuineaParaguay
QatarRepublic of CongoRepublic of Korea
Republic of KosovoRomaniaRussia
RwandaSaint Kitts and NevisSaint Lucia
Saint Vincent and the GrenadinesSamoaSao Tome and Principe
Saudi ArabiaSenegalSerbia
SeychellesSierra LeoneSolomon Islands
SomaliaSouth AfricaSouth Sudan
Sri LankaSudanSuriname
TongaTrinidad and TobagoTunisia
UgandaUkraineUnited Arab Emirates
Vatican CityVenezuelaVietnam

Citizens of Visa Waiver Countries

On the other hand, citizens of a participating country in the Visa Waiver Program (VWP) can travel to the US for temporary stays of 90 days or less without a visa, if they travel for tourism or business purposes.

However, foreigners of these countries must get an ESTA (Electronic System for Travel Authorization) from the US Customs and Borders Protection’s (CBP). This authorizing document categorizes the traveler as a citizen of a participating country in the VWP agreement.

All the travelers are also required to have an electronic passport with biometric information which has a machine-readable zone on its biographic page.

You can use our ESTA eligibility tool to determine whether you qualify to travel to the US under the Visa Waiver Program.

Non-VWP Citizens Who are Exempt from US Visa Application

Citizens of Canada and Bermuda enjoy the freedom of traveling temporarily to the US without a having to possess a nonimmigrant visa or any other pre-entry authorization, such as ESTA (Electronic System for Travel Authorization).

  • Canadian citizens – are visa free to enter and stay in the US, even to work there (they might even use an NEXUS Card or an Enhanced Driver’s License for identification, instead of a passport)
  • Bermudian citizens – are exempt of visa, for stays less than 6 months in the US

Benefiting from the agreement “the Compacts of Free Association” with the US, citizens of the Marshall Islands, Micronesia and Palau are released from visa requirement for entering, staying, studying or getting employed in the US without limit.

Last Updated on