South America, often considered as a subcontinent of America, consists mostly of Spanish and Portuguese-speaking countries that take up an area of 17,850,000 km2. This makes South America the fourth largest continent, and the fifth most populated.

The continent has a long history of colonialism, which has been reflected in the western traditions of the societies and states living there.

It is home to tourist attractions as the Iconic Christ Statue atop a mountain in Brazil, the Lake Titicaca rich of wildlife and Incan Ruins in Bolivia, the Machu Picchu citadel in Peru, the Margarita Island in Venezuela, the Balta Island in Ecuador and many more.

To travel to South America for tourism and business purposes, depending on traveler’s nationality, a visa, e-visa, visa-on-arrival, or travel authorization may be required.

Each country located in South America has different visa policies and entry requirements. Yet, moving to any of the countries for long-term stays, as for work, retirement, or to join family, long-stay visas and residence permits are usually required.

These countries are: