Authorities in the United States have revealed that the ban imposed on arrivals from 33 countries would finally be lifted on November 8 for all those who have completed their immunization process against the Coronavirus through vaccination.

Such a decision came after evaluating that the current epidemiological situation permitted such a move to be taken.

Since the start of the pandemic, the US government has kept in place strict entry rules in order to protect citizens’ lives and prevent another increase in the number of infections, VisaGuide.World reports.

In addition, in this regard, the former President of the United States, Donald Trump, signed several proclamations, among them, banning from entering all citizens of the 26 Schengen Zone countries, the United Kingdom, Ireland, Brazil, South Africa, India, and China, after taking into account the COVID-19 figures provided by the Centers for Disease Prevention and Control (CDC).

Even though the decision was taken in order to stop the further spread of the virus, the ban on entry imposed for travelers from the countries mentioned above was often criticized by many governments and organizations, especially those in the Schengen Zone, as it caused a devastating situation for the economic sector.

 However, on September 20, it was officially confirmed that the US authorities would lift the ban that has affected many international travelers.

Which Vaccines Will Be Accepted?

According to the figures provided by the World Health Organization (WHO), there have been a total of 44,771,380 cases of COVID-19 infection in the United States since the start of the pandemic. In addition, the same source shows that the virus caused the death of more than 722,000 people in the US.

Despite those figures, authorities in the US have decided to permit entry for people who have completed their immunization process against the Coronavirus and its new strains.

Authorities in the US have confirmed that all travelers who have been fully vaccinated with one of the vaccines approved by WHO would be allowed to enter the US territory as soon as the country lifts the entry ban.

Such an announcement means that all people from the Schengen Area, India, Brazil, South Africa, the UK, China, and Ireland who have been fully vaccinated against the virus, with one of the following vaccines, will be eligible to travel to the United States starting from November 8.

  •  Moderna
  • Pfizer/BioNTech
  • Janssen (Johnson & Johnson)
  • AstraZeneca, including Covishield
  • Sinopharm (Beijing)
  • Sinovac

In addition, authorities in the United States confirmed that travelers vaccinated with mixed COVID-19 vaccines would also be excluded from the entry ban.

“While CDC has not recommended mixing types of a vaccine in a primary series, we recognize that this is increasingly common in other countries so should be accepted for the interpretation of vaccine records,” a CDC spokeswoman confirmed in this regard.

However, those who have recovered from the Coronavirus will not be permitted to enter the US.

Did you find this page helpful?
Yes No
Scroll to Top