The United States Government will no longer require international travellers to go through the screening process upon their arrival to 15 airports, after an evaluation that these screenings did not contribute to halting the spread of the virus.

However, passengers will be advised regarding public health measures, in order to reduce the risk from the Coronavirus pandemic, VisaGuide.World reports.

“Beginning September 14, 2020, the US government will remove requirements for directing all flights carrying airline passengers arriving from, or recently had a presence in, certain countries to land at one of 15 designated airports and halt enhanced entry health screening for these passengers,” the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention revealed in a recent statement published in its official website.

Currently, subject to the entry health screening are all those who in the last two weeks have been in the following territories:

  • China – except for the Special Administrative Regions of Hong Kong and Macau)
  • the 26 Schengen Area member states
  • Ireland
  • Iran
  • Brazil

As the transmission of the virus also happens among people without symptoms, the CDCP has concluded that the airport screening for Coronavirus symptoms does not help much in the detection of infections.

“Therefore, CDC is shifting its strategy and prioritizing other public health measures to reduce the risk of travel-related disease transmission,” the agency pointed out, explaining that all resources that would be spent on border screening procedures, will now be dedicated to finding other ways to stop the further spread of the virus, as health education for passengers and illness response at airports.

Testing may also be considered as an option to find the spread of the virus from international arrivals, the CDCP  highlighted in its statement as well.

Thus, starting from next Monday, health screening procedures on international arrivals from certain countries will no longer take place at the following airports:

  • Boston-Logan International Airport (BOS), Massachusetts
  • Chicago O’Hare International Airport (ORD), Illinois
  • Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport (DFW), Texas
  • Detroit Metropolitan Airport (DTW), Michigan
  • Daniel K. Inouye International Airport (HNL), Hawaii
  • Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport (FLL), Florida
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (IAH), Texas
  • Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport (ATL), Georgia
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK), New York
  • Los Angeles International Airport, (LAX), California
  • Miami International Airport (MIA), Florida
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR), New Jersey
  • San Francisco International Airport (SFO), California
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (SEA), Washington
  • Washington-Dulles International Airport (IAD), Virginia

The US President Donald  Trump imposed an entry ban to non-US internationals from Europe (March 13) and the United Kingdom and Ireland (March 16), in a bid to halt the spread of the pandemic.

Due to the imposed ban, those flying to the US from Italy dropped by 74 per cent to 35,877, in March, while from the borderless area of Schengen flyers to the US decreased 50 per cent to 862,432.