Authorities in the United States have provided further details regarding the removal of the entry ban imposed on arrivals from Schengen Area countries, the United Kingdom, Ireland, South Africa, Brazil, India, and China, that will officially be lifted on November 8, VisaGuide.World reports.

“Starting on November 8, non-citizen, non-immigrant air travelers to the United States will be required to be fully vaccinated and to provide proof of COVID-19 vaccination status before boarding an airplane to fly to the US, with only limited exceptions,” a White House press release has clarified.

The White House has also stressed that all passengers who have not completed their immunization process against the Coronavirus, including the US citizens and permanent residents, will be required to undergo the COVID-19 testing process within their first day of departure.

Immediately after, Visaguide.World reported that all passengers who have completed their immunization process against COVID-19 with vaccines approved by the World Health Organization would be permitted to enter the US.

“CDC has determined that for purposes of travel to the United States, vaccines accepted will include FDA approved or authorized and World Health Organization (WHO) emergency use listed (EUL) vaccines,” the White House notes.

At present, the following vaccines have been approved by the WHO:

  • Moderna
  • Pfizer/BioNTech
  • Janssen (Johnson & Johnson)
  • AstraZeneca, including Covishield
  • Sinopharm (Beijing)
  • Sinovac

In addition, travelers immunized with vaccines that have been approved by the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA), such as Moderna, Pfizer, Janssen, will also be permitted to enter the US territory starting from November 8, as these vaccines are also considered as a valid proof of the immunity.

Authorities in the United States have also announced that travelers from the European Union and the United Kingdom would be required to present valid proof of their vaccination to the airline before boarding the plane.

However, authorities in the United States have clarified that the following categories would be exempted from the vaccination requirement:

  • Persons under age 18
  • Specific participants of COVID-19 clinical trials
  • Persons with medical contradictions to the vaccine
  • Persons planning to enter the Us under emergency or humanitarian purposes
  • Persons from territories with low-vaccine availability who are traveling on non-tourist visas

The US Government has also stressed that non-vaccinated travelers from other territories planning to enter the US from November 8 would be required to present a negative result of the COVI-19 test before their arrival.

Authorities in the US announced on September 20 the country’s decision to permit travelers from 33 countries worldwide to enter their territory without being subject to quarantine rules if they have completed their immunization process.

Such an announcement led to an increase in bookings to the US by mid-October to more than 70 percent, compared to the pre-pandemic situation, according to a recent analysis conducted by ForwardKeys.

Authorities in the United States have recorded a total of 45,107,253 COVID-19 infection cases and 730,306 deaths, based on the official data published by the World Health Organization (WHO). Such figures pushed the US government to keep strict preventive measures such as entry bans and travel restrictions to stop the further spread of the Coronavirus and its new strains.

The entry ban has been in place since the Former President of the US, Donald Trump, signed several proclamations in order to prevent another increase in the number of infections, including banning the entry for arrivals from 26 Schengen Zone countries, the United Kingdom, Brazil, India, South Korea, China, and India.

Did you find this page helpful?
Yes No
Scroll to Top