The United States President Donald Trump’s plans to expand the travel ban, have now come to life, though his latest decision to add six more countries to his travel ban.

Nigeria, Myanmar, Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Sudan, and Tanzania are the new countries that have recently been added to the list, meaning that nationals of these countries won’t be eligible to enter to the US with immigrant visas.

While the immigrant visas will be suspended for citizens of Nigeria, Myanmar, Eritrea and Kyrgyzstan, the citizens from Sudan and Tanzania will also be barred from the US diversity visa program, which awards green cards and immigrants.

Trump’s order, that has been signed on Friday, will come into force on February 22. But this restriction will not be applicable for tourist, business or other nonimmigrant travel, according to Homeland Security Department officials.

According to Donald Trump’s administration this decision provides more security.

“President Trump’s security and travel proclamations have immeasurably improved our national security, substantially raised the global standard for information-sharing, and dramatically strengthened the integrity of the United States’ immigration system. The orders have been a tremendous and vital success”, said White House Press Secretary Stephanie Grisham in a statement.

But this decision has not been welcomed by Muslim countries and restarted the debate that this was discriminating against Muslim people, based on their own religious choice.

To all this debate Trump has “responded” in the past by saying that immigrants should only be allowed into the United States on merit, not through any form of the lottery system.

Trump’s latest decision was seen as a good thing by the acting Secretary of Homeland Security and Under Secretary of Homeland Security for Strategy, Policy, and Plans, Chad F. Wolf. 

He said that these countries have failed to meet the minimum requirements that were laid out.

“These countries, for the most part, want to be helpful, but for a variety of different reasons simply failed to meet those minimum requirements that we laid out” Wolf asserted.

But it seems that Wolf is one of the few persons that find this law a good thing, as several immigration-related organizations have also denounced this move.

The Washington state governor, Jay Inslee, said the expansion “betrays the values that bind us as Americans”, while Amnesty International USA’s executive director, Margaret Huang said that the Trump administration’s efforts to expand the ban are offensive and actually harmful to our national security”.

Trump’s travel ban was taken to several courts, which stated that “it was illegal to stop people from coming into the country only because they have a certain religious preference.” Yet the Justices of the Supreme Court argued that it was not discriminating towards a particular religion because it did not include only Muslim countries, so they upheld it.

The current travel ban applies to Iran, Libya, Syria, Yemen, and Somalia as well as North Korea and Venezuela.

Share this article