Current US President Donald Trump’s administration could terminate birthright citizenship during his last weeks in the office, before Biden’s administration takes over.

The birthright citizenship policy enables every person who is born in the United States to obtain US citizenship immediately, even though their parents may not have US citizenship, VisaGuide.World reports.

Trump’s administration is trying to rush the halt of birthright citizenship, among other immigration actions, before it departs the White House.

The legality of birthright citizenship has been protected under the 14th Amendment for a long time.

According to the 14th Amendment, “all persons born or naturalised in the United States, and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of the United States and the State wherein they reside.”

However, since 2016, President Trump has been discussing the issue, which often has brought polemics to the table.

In 2018, Trump stressed that he could issue an executive order, to put to an end to the current practice. His comments came during an interview with Axios.

However, some person has raised concerns that the continuously discussed Amendment has been misinterpreted.

The government relations director at Federation for American Immigration Reform, RJ Hauman, said that “the Citizenship Clause of the 14th Amendment was intended to guarantee that emancipated slaves would properly be recognised as US citizens.”

“It is a fundamental misapplication of this clause that U.S.-born children of illegal aliens are granted automatic citizenship, much less the offspring of people who come here to simply give birth on American soil,” RJ Hauman pointed out.

He stressed that if the Trump administration issues an executive order limiting birthright citizenship, the Supreme Court would be obliged to resolve this problem once and for all.

The legality of birthright citizenship has never been reviewed by the Supreme Court or established under federal law.

The Trump administration-imposed visa restrictions on pregnant women in January in bid to abolish “birth tourism.”

Countries that Recognise Birthright Citizenship

Up to 30 countries grant foreigners with birthright citizenship. Below you can see the full list of countries who apply this practice.

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Bolivia
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Costa Rica
  • Cuba
  • Dominica
  • Ecuador
  • El Salvador
  • Fiji
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Guyana
  • Honduras
  • Jamaica
  • Lesotho
  • Mexico
  • Nicaragua
  • Pakistan
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Saint Kits and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Tanzania
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tuvalu
  • United States
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela