The United States has added Israel to the list of countries eligible for E-2 Treaty Investor Visas. Nationals of the country will be able to apply for such a visa starting May 1, 2019.

The US Embassy in Jerusalem has announced the signing of the treaty through a press release.

“The U.S. Embassy has the pleasure to announce that a treaty investor agreement (E2 Visa) has been signed between the United States and Israel and will become effective as of May 1, 2019.  Pursuant to the treaty, Israeli citizens will be able to apply for an E2 visa at the U.S. Embassy Branch Office Tel Aviv,” the US Embassy in Jerusalem announces.

The E-2 visa is a US non-immigrant visa category, issued to individual investors or investing companies from countries that have a treaty with the US. The investment can be in any industry or business such as tourism, IT, marketing, etc., of an amount between $100,000 to $200,000 in an existing business or in a new business.

Currently, there are 77 countries, the nationals of which are eligible for an E-2 visa. The procedures to add Israel to this list have started in 2011 when President Obama signed the legislation that adds Israel to the list of countries eligible for E-2 treaty investor status.

The procedures for Israel to join the E-2 required both Israel and the United States to authorize reciprocal rules for the issuance of investor visas, with comparable terms. They have slowly been completed within the last eight years.

According to the US embassy, all Israeli companies seeking E-visas for their owners or employees need to apply at the Branch Office in Tel Aviv and establish that the requirements are met.

“For both first-time applicants and renewals, the company must submit supporting documents, including the individual application for the employee, by mail,” the press release says.

It also clarifies that holders of the US E-visas are permitted to remain in the United States as long as they continue to maintain their status with the enterprise.

Share this article

Last Updated on