The Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine and the Government of the Republic of Marshall have signed a visa-free agreement that enables the citizens of both countries to enter the other without the need to apply for visas beforehand.

The agreement has been approved by both governments, meanwhile, the Prime Minister of Ukraine, Oleksiy Honcharuk, announced the decision through social media, VisaGuide.World reports.

“The government approved the Agreement between the governments of Ukraine and the Republic of the Marshall Islands on the abolition of visas. The approval of the resolution will allow carrying out the internal procedures necessary for the Agreement to enter into force,” Honcharuk said.

Visa-Free Agreements of Ukraine With Other Countries

Earlier this month, on February 5, 2020, Ukraine reached an agreement with Mongolia and Argentina to lift the visa regime so the nationals of both countries can travel to the other without visas.

Prime Minister Oleksiy Honcharuk reported about this decision, pointing out that this will increase the number of travelers from the Marshall Islands to Ukraine, and vice versa.

“The government approved two protocols between the government of Ukraine and governments of Mongolia and Argentina, which provides the increase of term of visa-free stay of citizens of Ukraine in the territory of two countries twice,” Honcharuk noted.

Great Britain and Northern Ireland have also benefited from a visa-free agreement with Ukraine because the visa-free entry for both countries will be extended for another year. Ukrainians  are however, still required to obtain a visa to travel to the UK. 

President of Ukraine Volodymyr Zelensky informed about the signed agreement on the President’s website.

“[We have decided] to introduce visa-free entry into Ukraine and transit through the territory of Ukraine for citizens of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland from January 31, 2020, to January 30, 2021, if their stay in Ukraine does not exceed 90 days for 180 days,” the decree reads.

In 2019, several countries benefited from visa-free agreements with Ukraine, including Costa Rica, North Macedonia, etc.

The visa lifting of the process with Costa Rica was signed on May 31, 2019, as Ukraine’s Foreign Ministry Consular Service Department reported on Facebook.

“To institutionalize the decision of Costa Rica’s side on the imposing of the visa-free regime for entry of Ukrainian to its territory, the agreement was reached on the conclusion of the proper bilateral contract on the visa-free regime,” the message said.

North Macedonia and Ukraine have also signed a visa-free agreement, that enables the citizens of both to enter the other country without the need of obtaining a visa first.

Ukraine’s Ambassador in North Macedonia Natalya Zadorozhnyuk on behalf of Ukraine and the North Macedonian Minister for Foreign Affairs Nikola Dimitrov on behalf of North Macedonia had lifted visa requirements on July 12, 2019.

In 2018, Ukraine had also facilitated the travel process with Antigua and Barbuda by signing an agreement for free movement between the two countries. 

The agreement had been signed on February 6, 2018, at the Embassy of Ukraine in Washington, by the Ambassador of Ukraine to the United States Valeriy Chaly and Ambassador of Antigua and Barbuda to the United States Ronald Sanders.

Did you find this page helpful?
Yes No
Scroll to Top