There are 155 countries on the UK’s COVID-19 quarantine list as of August 14, including the Netherlands, Spain, Belgium, France, and the US.  Also on the list are Monaco, Luxembourg, Malta, Romania, and Russia.

Anyone – UK resident or tourist – travelling from those countries will need to undergo self-isolation for 14 days. Upon arrival, passengers will have to provide their contact details, whereas breaking quarantine will lead to a fine of up to £1,000.

Turkey, a popular holiday destination for Brits, is quarantine-exempt for the time being, although recent spikes in COVID-19 infections have led to fears it is going to be the latest country added.

This comes after UK residents travelling to France, Belgium, and Spain were forced to hastily return home as these countries were added to the high-risk list. Countries which have an infection rate higher than 20 cases per 100,000 people over seven days are considered high-risk, according to UK’s Transport Secretary Grant Shapps.

At the moment, only travellers from (most) EU countries, British territories, and select other low-risk destinations, such as Australia, New Zealand, Japan, and South Korea, are exempt from quarantine requirements. See the full list of exemptions below.`

As a result of the imposed quarantine, Brits are choosing to simply not go on holiday. Experts at the Tony Blair Institute have suggested introducing COVID-19 testing to the passengers, and anyone who tests negative five days after arrival should be allowed to leave.

A 14-day quarantine, they said, is causing “immeasurable damage” to the British travel sector and will come “at a huge cost to employers in terms of lost productivity and to employees in lost wages.”

UK Quarantine Exemptions

According to the UK Government website, you have to quarantine after entering the UK if you are travelling from a country not listed below. Only travellers from the countries/territories listed are exempt from quarantine requirements – everyone else is subject to a 14-day self-isolation:


  • Austria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • Germany
  • Gibraltar
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal (only The Azores and Madeira)
  • San Marino
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Switzerland
  • Turkey


  • Antigua & Barbuda
  • Barbados
  • Bermuda
  • Canada
  • Cayman Islands
  • Cuba
  • Curaçao
  • Dominica
  • Falkland Islands
  • Grenada
  • Guadeloupe
  • Jamaica
  • Martinique
  • South Georgia & the South Sandwich Islands
  • St Kitts and Nevis
  • St Lucia
  • St Maarten
  • St Martin and St Barthélemy
  • St Pierre and Miquelon
  • St Vincent and The Grenadines
  • Trinidad and Tobago


  • Australia
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • Brunei
  • Cambodia
  • Cook Islands
  • Fiji
  • French Polynesia
  • Hong Kong
  • Japan
  • Laos
  • Macao
  • Malaysia
  • New Caledonia
  • New Zealand
  • Samoa
  • Singapore
  • South Korea
  • Sri Lanka
  • Taiwan
  • Thailand
  • Vietnam
  • Wallis and Futuna


  • Reunion
  • St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha


  • British Antarctic Territory