Starting today, October 4, travelers can enter the UK under the new and simplified entry regulation due to the abolishment of the color-coded system, warned last week.

According to the press release issued by the Department of Transport, fully vaccinated travelers from countries that aren’t on the red list will be allowed to enter the UK under more relaxed restrictions. For example, the requirement to take a pre-departure test will cease to apply to all travelers from non-red listed countries regardless of the vaccination status, VisaGuide.World reports.

Furthermore, vaccinated travelers won’t have to undergo a second post-arrival test (day eight test) or self-isolate for ten days after arrival if they have been vaccinated with the approved shots from the British health authorities.

The approved vaccines in the UK include the following:

  1. AstraZeneca (Vaxzevria)
  2. Pfizer/BioNTech (Comirnaty)
  3. Moderna (Spikevax)
  4. Johnson & Johnson (Janssen).
  5. AstraZeneca CoviShield
  6. Moderna Takeda

Moreover, travelers from this category will be allowed to replace their second-day post-arrival test with a cheaper option. However, if the travelers result positive for this testing option, they have to take a PCR test to confirm the symptoms, with no additional costs.

In other words, vaccinated and unvaccinated travelers will be able to enter the country by booking, paying, and taking a post-arrival test within 48 hours and completing the entry form before entering the country. The Passenger Locator Form (PLF) must contain the booking reference number for the day two COVID test.

“Our priority remains to protect public health but, with more than eight in ten people now fully vaccinated, we are able to take these steps to lower the cost of testing and help the sector to continue in its recovery, “Transport Secretary Grant Shapps noted regarding the travel rules.

On the other hand, arrivals from red-listed third countries, given below, will undergo more stringent entry rules compared to the rest of the world:

  • Afghanistan
  • Angola
  • Argentina
  • Bolivia
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Burundi
  • Cape Verde
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Congo (Democratic Republic)
  • Costa Rica
  • Cuba
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • Eritrea
  • Eswatini
  • Ethiopia
  • French Guiana
  • Georgia
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Indonesia
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mayotte
  • Mexico
  • Mongolia
  • Montenegro
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar
  • Namibia
  • Nepal
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Réunion
  • Rwanda
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • Sudan
  • Suriname
  • Tanzania
  • Thailand
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tunisia
  • Uganda
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

For both vaccinated and unvaccinated travelers from the countries mentioned above, the following list of requirements applies:

  • A COVID test has to be taken three days before traveling
  • Travelers must book and pay for tests to take post-arrival in the UK and on the eighth day of their stay
  • The passenger locator form has to be completed two days before reaching the UK, including the reference number for booking the post-arrival tests
  • Book and undergo a ten-day quarantine and take both tests on day two and day eight upon entering the country

Moreover, children from five to 17 years old arriving from red list countries have to take COVID tests on days two and eight of their self-isolation. Children 11 years and older have to undergo a pre-departure test before reaching the UK.

Did you find this page helpful?
Yes No
Scroll to Top