The Government of the United Kingdom has lifted its advice against non-essential travel to further 51 countries and territories that has been kept in place in order to halt the further spread of the Coronavirus.

Such a decision has been confirmed by the Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office (FCDO), after confirming that the current COVID-19 epidemiological situation permits such a decision to be taken, VisaGuide.World reports.

According to the announcement of the FCDO, since October 8, authorities in the United Kingdom no longer advise citizens to avoid travel for unnecessary purposes to the following countries:

  • Bahamas
  • Cameroon
  • Côte d’Ivoire
  • Jamaica
  • Martinique
  • Palau
  • Tajikistan
  • Uzbekistan
  • Western Sahara

In addition, the UK’s government has also announced that since October 11, it abolished its advice against travel for unnecessary reasons to the following countries and territories:

  • Angola
  • Argentina
  • Bolivia
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Cape Verde
  • Chile
  • The Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Costa Rica
  • Cuba
  • Eritrea
  • Eswatini
  • Ethiopia
  • Georgia
  • Guyana
  • Indonesia
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mexico
  • Mongolia
  • Montenegro
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar (Burma)
  • Namibia
  • Nepal
  • Paraguay
  • Philippines
  • Reunion
  • Rwanda
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • South Africa
  • Sudan
  • Suriname
  • Tanzania
  • Thailand
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tunisia
  • Uganda
  • Uruguay
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

According to the figures provided by the World Health Organization (WHO), a total of 8,193,773 people in the United Kingdom have tested positive for the Coronavirus since the start of the pandemic, and more than 37,700 people have died.

The same source shows that in the last 24 hours, the UK has registered 39,463 COVID-19 infection cases and 28 deaths.

However, despite such figures, authorities in the UK have started to apply some changes to their preventive measures introduced to stop the spread of the virus, including facilitating their entry rules.

Earlier this month, the UK’s government announced that travellers from the EU and the US planning to travel to the country would no longer be required to follow quarantine rules upon their arrival.

However, regarding the recent changes applied by the UK’s government, Foreign Secretary Liz Truss said that “such updates make travel abroad easier – boosting trade, tourism and reuniting friends and families.”

“I am delighted that the safe reopening of travel allows people to exercise personal responsibility and visit more destinations across the globe,” Truss pointed out in this regard.

In addition, Britain ended its amber list and imposed a single-red list system that includes only countries considered highly affected by the Coronavirus situation.

Did you find this page helpful?
Yes No
Scroll to Top