Seychelles will reopen its borders for all persons who have taken a vaccine against the Coronavirus, the government of the island nation has announced.

From now on, all vaccinated travellers will be permitted to enter Seychelles without being obliged to follow ten days of mandatory quarantine. However, they still will be required to present a negative result of the Coronavirus PCR test not older than 72 hours, VisaGuide.World reports.

Passengers will be required to submit a certificate from their national health authority to prove that they received both doses of the vaccine.

About 65 per cent of the Seychelles GDP depends on the tourism sector.

Seychelles’ authorities believe that the recently imposed measures will help revive the tourism sector, which has been profoundly affected by the spread of the Coronavirus disease.

“We hope that this will open up the tourism industry for the locals primarily for the small hotels who are struggling on La Digue, Praslin and also on Mahe. And also provide the kick that our economy desperately needs,” Tourism Minister Sylvestre Radegonde pointed out earlier this month.

All non-vaccinated travellers from the category 1 and 2 imposed by Seychelles’ authorities, including those who arrive by private jet, are permitted to enter if they complete the 10-days mandatory quarantine rules given that they present a negative result of the Coronavirus test, not older than 72 hours.

By mid-March, the island nation plans to vaccinate more than 70 per cent of its 98,000 residents.

If so, the imposed restrictions will continue to be relaxed, and all persons allowed to enter Seychelles could do so by simply presenting a negative result of the PCR test, not older than 72 hours.

Citizens coming from any of the following countries belong to the Seychelles Category 1.

  • Australia
  • Bahrain
  • Botswana
  • Burundi
  • Cambodia
  • China
  • Côte D’Ivoire
  • Cuba
  • Egypt
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • Gabon
  • Ghana
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Kenya
  • Kuwait
  • Liechtenstein
  • Malawi
  • Maldives
  • Malta
  • Mauritius
  • Monaco
  • Mongolia
  • New Zealand
  • Niger
  • Norway
  • Pakistan
  • Qatar
  • Rwanda
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Singapore
  • Sri Lanka
  • Tajikistan
  • Thailand
  • Togo
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vietnam
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

The following countries belong to Seychelles Category 2, based on the current Coronavirus pandemic situation.

  • Austria
  • France
  • Germany
  • Italy
  • Switzerland
  • United Arab Emirates

Up to this point, more than 840 persons have tested positive for the Coronavirus pandemic in Seychelles, while three persons have died.