More EU Countries Asking Travellers for COVID-19 Negative Test Results

A certificate that proves that persons tested negative for the Coronavirus pandemic upon their arrival on a specific country may be the key for a “safe reopening of the EU borders”.

Due to the Coronavirus pandemic, which infected more than 7,000,000 persons worldwide, a large share of European countries has imposed entry bans and travel restrictions in a bid to stop the further spread of the virus. But when it comes to the lifting of restriction,s some of the countries are not ready to make such a step yet, VisaGuide.World reports.

While European Union countries as Poland have not informed yet when they plan to reopen their borders for non-essential travel for the rest of the block’s citizens, some others as Italy, Germany and Spain have revealed their plans of reopening their borders in June. Countries such as  Greece and Hungary have even added non-EU and non-Schengen countries to their lists of soon-to-be eligible travellers to enter their territory.

However,  the number of European Countries asking travellers for Coronavirus negative test results is on the rise, in their effort to stop the spread of the virus.


Earlier this month, the Austrian Federal Ministry of the Interior stressed that persons attempting to enter Austria are required to present negative results of a molecular biological test for SARS-CoV-2 at the Austrian port of entry.

The test must not be older than four days at the moment of entry.

Czech Republic

European Union Member States’ residents who can enter the Czech Republic will need to present a negative test for Coronavirus to the competent authorities, upon entry.

On May 26, Czech Republic removed border controls and decided to open road and rail crossings for Austria and Germany.

“As part of the relaxation of conditions, checks at the borders with Germany and Austria will be targeted and random, and the police will not check every passenger. The police will select places flexibly based on epidemiological risk assessments in cooperation with hygienists,” a press release of the Ministry announced.


Greece decided to allow entry for travellers coming from 29 countries, mostly EU members, from June 15, as the number of infection cases has shown a decrease.

According to the  Greek Civil Aviation Authority (CYA), from June 15 to June 30, passengers arriving from high-infection countries will need to test for the Coronavirus. Even if the test results are negative, the traveller will need to go through the mandatory quarantine for seven days.


From June 1, residents of the Schengen Area, the European Union and of the United Kingdom will be permitted to enter Estonia, the Estonian Foreign Minister Urmas Reinsalu pointed out.

Reinsalu said that there is a possibility for tests to be offered at the airports, so the persons who result negative don’t need to go through the quarantine.

“We are currently working on an alternative so that if a person can produce evidence of a negative COVID-19 virus test or is tested at an Estonian airport, for example, it would be possible to shorten the quarantine time,” he said.


As an effort to avoid the mandatory quarantine Iceland also plans to offer Coronavirus test for travellers at the country’s international airport, as of June 15.

“When travellers return to Iceland, we want to have all mechanisms in place to safeguard them and the progress made in controlling the pandemic. Iceland’s strategy of large-scale testing, tracing and isolating has proven effective so far. We want to build on that experience of creating a safe place for those who want a change of scenery after what has been a tough spring for all of us,” Þórdís Kolbrún Reykfjörð Gylfadóttir, Minister of Tourism, Industry and Innovation said at the time of the proposal.


Portugal will soon open its borders for tourists from a selected number of countries, mostly for the EU Member States and Portuguese speaking countries, Portugal’s Minister of Foreign Affairs Augusto Santos Silva announced earlier.

Some Portuguese regional tourist boards including Madeira and Porto Santo revealed that are planning to reopen to international tourists from July 1. They will also offer travellers Coronaviurs tests that will be paid by the local Government.


Travellers who want to enter Slovakia are also required to present negative results of RT-PCR test for Coronavirus not older than four days.

Persons with permanent or temporary residence in Slovakia, who travel to Croatia, Austria, Czech Republic, Hungary, Germany, Poland, Slovenia and Switzerland are exempt from the required Coronavirus test upon arrival if they return to the territory of Slovakia within 24 hours.


The Government of Slovenia has issued a new decree through which it implements new changes in the list of who can enter and who cannot enter the country amid the Coronavirus.

The Government of Slovenia also decided that persons who want to enter the country are required to present a negative test result. Through the new decree that implements “the rules of entry” amid Coronavirus, it stipulates two categories as eligible to avoid quarantine when crossing the borders if they present a negative test result on SARS-CoV-2 (COVID-19), that is not older than three days, which are:

  • Every person in commercial traffic or activities who, when crossing the border, proves himself with evidence of performing traffic or activities in the Republic of Slovenia or abroad and returns across the border on the same day.
  • Every person employed by a foreign company providing a service in the Republic of Slovenia and residing in the Republic of Slovenia, who submits the address of residence in the Republic of Slovenia.


Switzerland is discussing the possibility to abolish all entry restrictions for European Union countries in mid-June.

Coronavirus test for persons coming in the country will also be included among other health measures.


Cyprus plans to reopen its borders from June 9, for countries like Germany, Greece, Malta, and Israel and possibly Scandinavian and UAE countries and the Baltic States.

Upon arrival, travellers must show a negative Coronavirus test, taken in the previous 72 hours, to get in.

Did you find this page helpful?
Yes No
Scroll to Top