The Russian authorities are looking forward to updating their e-visa program by adding several more countries, extending validity period and making the e-visas valid for more Russian ports of entry than currently.

According to the head of the Russian Federal Agency for Tourism Zarina Doguzova, the Russian electronic visas will be valid for 15 days at first and single entry.

“I will lift the veil of secrecy here, it might be even longer is the Russian President supports us. But, generally, we are talking about at least increasing it from eight to fourteen (days) for sure,” Doguzova said.

She also explained that for now, e-visas are valid only for those entering Russia through transport hubs in the Russian Far East and the Zabaykalsky Region. Yet, Doguzova relieved that starting from July 1, they will also be valid for the Kaliningrad Region.

“Until the e-visa travel is available for the whole country, we need to carry out targeted information campaigns for the markets of interest so that as many tourists as possible learn that the E-visa travel is already operational in a number of regions,” she said.

Those who wish to travel to Russia for purposes as business, tourism, sports, cultural, scientific and technological ties are eligible for an e-visa. For now, there is no fee for a Russian electronic visa. However, according to Doguzova, in the future the service cost will be about $50.

Currently, the Russian e-visa is valid only for the nationals of a few selected countries, which are:

  • Algeria
  • Bahrain
  • Brunei
  • India
  • Iran
  • Qatar
  • The People’s Republic of China
  • The Democratic People’s Republic of Korea
  • Kuwait
  • Morocco
  • Mexico
  • The United Arab Emirates
  • Oman
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Singapore
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • Japan

Under the plans to expand the program, countries as China, South Korea, Japan, EU countries and non-EU countries that are Schengen members, like Norway and Iceland, can benefit from it. On the other hand, citizens from the United Kingdom, Canada and the United States are not to be included in the new e-visa system due to tensed relations of these countries with Russia.

Did you find this page helpful?
Yes No
Scroll to Top