Nationals of 60 Countries Now Need Travel Authorization for New Zealand

  • new zealand flag

Nationals of 60 Countries Now Need Travel Authorization for New Zealand

By | 2019-10-04T10:34:31+00:00 October 4th, 2019|New Zealand Visa/Passport News|

As of Tuesday this week, October 1, nationals of 60 world countries that up until now have been permitted to enter New Zealand for tourism purposes with only a passport will need to apply for and receive a New Zealand Electronic Travel Authority (NZeTA) for entry.

The scheme, which the government decided to establish in a bid to improve security by reducing immigration risks, addressing smuggling and biosecurity risks, is very similar to the US Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA) and the Canadian Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA). The European Union is also set to launch a similar system named the European Travel Information Authorization System (ETIAS) by January 2021.

Nationals of countries like the European Union Member State, the United States, the United Kingdom and more will be subject to the new entry requirement. While Australian citizens will be exempt from applying for the eTA, Australian permanent residents will still need to apply for one before traveling to New Zealand.

Travelers from these 60 countries in need of the authorization will be able to apply for an NZeTA online, or by downloading the Android or iOS app. Those applying from web browsers will have to pay a fee of NZ $12.00 per application, while those applying through the app will need to pay a lower fee of NZ $9.00. The app is, however, free to download.

Yet, applicants will also need to pay a fee of NZ$35 for the International Conservation and Tourism levy at the time of application.

The processing period of the application may take from 10 minutes to 72 hours, therefore the applicants need to pay well in advance. The electronic authorization will be valid for two years, and it is supposed to facilitate the border arrival process in New Zealand.

Previously, in August VisaGuide.World reported that non-official eTA websites have started popping all over the internet, many of them, though not directly claiming they are the official eTA website, try to look like that.

Nationals of Which Countries Need to Apply for NZeTA?

Passport holders from the following countries will now need to apply for an NZeTA before traveling to New Zealand for purposes they have been permitted to travel visa-free up until now.

  • All European Union member countries
  • Andorra
  • Argentina
  • Bahrain
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Hong Kong
  • Iceland
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Kuwait
  • Liechtenstein
  • Macau
  • Malaysia
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Monaco
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Qatar
  • San Marino
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • Republic of South Korea
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United States
  • Uruguay
  • Vatican City


Share this article

Last Updated on