Japan has decided to temporarily suspend entry for nationals of several countries that are profoundly affected by the coronavirus pandemic, in a bid to halt the spread of the deadly virus.

Countries that will be included in Japan’s entry ban will be China, South Korea, three areas of Spain, some areas of Switzerland, Iceland, as well as Indonesia and the US.

The government plans to restrict the entry for all non-residents who have been in one of these countries the last two weeks, VisaGuide.World reports.

The latest Japan’s government move comes after the US and some European countries have become the new epicentre of the virus.

All visas issued before March 27, by Japanese mission in Indonesia will not be considered as valid. Starting from March 28 new visa issuance will also be halted.

“The new policy will be implemented until the end of April and could be extended,” the embassy reads in a statement.

So far, Japan has restricted entry for internationals coming from China, South Korea, Italy and Iran.

Amid COVID-19, the Japanese government has also decided to postpone the 2020 Tokyo Olympics, for at least one year, according to Prime Minister Shinzo Abe.

Japan has also urged its citizens not to travel abroad unless in emergency cases. The travel advisory for the whole world has been raised to Level 2, (out of a four-level scale), by Japan’s Foreign Ministry, marking the first time Japan has raised the travel alert so high.

In addition, the Japanese Foreign Ministry announced that visas that have already been issued for citizens of the affected countries would be invalidated.

The measure will be in place, from  March 21, 2020, and at least until the end of April.

Did you find this page helpful?
Yes No
Scroll to Top