Authorities in Jamaica will launch compulsory travel insurance “Jamaica Cares”, in mid-November, for all travellers who wish to visit the country.

The implementation of such a program is a mutual agreement reached by the tourism board of Jamaica, together with the Global Tourism Resilience and Crisis Management Centre (GTRCMC), as well as Global Travel and Tourism Resilience Council, and Global Rescue, VisaGuide.World reports.

Despite the fact that some visitors could already be covered with their own travel insurance, they will be required to purchase Jamaica’s travel insurance package.

“Destination Assurance is becoming a critical precondition of travel today. As thought leaders, Jamaica is taking a vital proactive role in recovering and rebuilding the spirit of travel, by restoring the trust and confidence of travellers in our destination,” the Minister of Tourism for Jamaica, Edmund Bartlett pointed out in this regard.

Jamaica Cares program includes things that visitors are concerned about; it is not limited to the COVID-19 pandemic situation.

Travel insurance includes:

  • Transport logistics
  • Case management
  • Field rescue
  • Repatriation and evacuation and for medical emergencies (including Coronavirus)
  • Different crises up to and including natural disasters
  • International health coverage more than $100,000 for persons travelling to Jamaica and vice versa
  • On island health coverage more than $50,000

“Jamaica Cares have been designed very specifically and very deliberately. The program protocol will ensure our ability to welcome travellers to Jamaica safely, knowing that in the worst-case scenario they will be treated to the gold standards of care and service,” Jamaica’s Minister of Tourism highlighted.

Jamaica is not the only country applying mandatory travel insurance for its visitors; some other countries worldwide also oblige travellers to be covered by their travel insurances.

The following countries, including all Schengen zone countries, have implemented compulsory travel insurance packages; Iran, Cuba, Ecuador, Turkey, Morocco, The UAE, Thailand, Togo, Romania, Algeria, Croatia, Moldova, Aruba, Georgia, Lebanon, Cambodia, Antarctica and Seychelles.

Some countries have introduced a travel insurance package pushed by the current Coronavirus situation.

Countries in which travellers are not permitted to enter without travel insurance and a negative result of the Coronavirus test include Cambodia, Aruba, Seychelles, as well as Lebanon.

Through the travel insurance visitors can feel more protected during their trips. It ensures all travellers that they could receive compensation for any expenses due to medical emergencies or any unplanned expenses.