Most of the foreigners, excepting few categories, will be ineligible to enter the Philippines, due to the country’s decision to ban foreigners from entering in a bid to curb the coronavirus pandemic spread.

According to the Department of Foreign Affairs, 157 countries who currently have visa-free facilitation, will be temporarily banned to enter the Philippines as the country declared a health emergency throughout the whole country.

This decision will not apply to foreign spouses and children who are travelling to the Philippines, foreign crew members, foreign government organizations officials, as well as the international organization’s officials who are accredited in the Philippines, VisaGuide.World reports.

 “Only Filipinos, their spouses and children, foreign diplomats, and foreign crew members will be allowed entry,” the Department of Foreign Affairs asserted.

Foreign nationals of both immigrant and non-immigrant visas, as well as the persons under visa waiver agreements, and as special visa holders, will be temporarily restricted to enter the Philippines, under the direction of the DFA decision.

The transports of goods, including medical supplies, humanitarian assistance and laboratory specimens related to Coronavirus, will be allowed.

The recovery flights for foreign nationals will continue normally as well.

“All visa-free privileges including those based on visa waiver agreements, those under Executive Order No. 408, Series of 1960, and for holders of Hong Kong and Macau passports and British National Overseas passports will be temporarily suspended beginning at midnight on March 22”, the DFA statement reads.

Foreign nationals who are already in the country will be exempted from the entry restriction.

As of March 23, 462 persons are infected by the coronavirus, while 33 persons have died. Up to 300,000 cases of SARS-CoV2 are identified worldwide, nearly 16,000 have passed away due to the virus.

The main number of countries worldwide are considering the closing of borders as an important action in the fight against the deadly virus. During the last days, 11 countries have restricted the entry for neighbor and non-neighboring countries amid the pandemic.

Share this article

Last Updated on