Citizens of China, South Korea, Japan, Italy and Iran will be ineligible to enter Nepali, after a decision of the government to temporarily suspend free visa-on-arrival for the citizens of these countries, due to the coronavirus.

“The Government of Nepal is monitoring the spread of Corona Virus (COVID-19). Taking into account the global recommendations and measure of the WHO, the Government of Nepal has decided to temporarily suspend visa-on-arrival for the nationals of the following countries, effective from 10 March 2020 to till the date of further notice“, the government announces through a statement.

Applicants from these five countries are required to submit a health certificate that has been issued recently to apply for a regular visa, VisaGuide.World reports.

Embassies abroad will be eligible to decide if they can provide visas for the nationals of these countries, to enter in Nepali, after checking the health certificates.

“A Cabinet meeting on Sunday decided to discontinue visa-on-arrival for nationals of these five countries to avoid the risk of the deadly diseases being spread in Nepal. The restriction will be applicable from next week,” Yogesh Bhattarai, Minister for Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation claimed.

So far, there has been no formal discussion whether the decision of visa-on-arrival suspension for these five countries will be valid only for one month or until another notice.

About 12 countries have benefited from Nepal of visa-on-arrival to travel through all the country.

Up to 169,543 Chinese citizens had visited Nepali in 2019, whereas the number of foreigners from South Korea was as high as 29,680, Nepal’s Department of Immigration reads.

Did you find this page helpful?
Yes No
Scroll to Top