Vietnam will suspend temporary visa-free regime for Italian citizens due to the coronavirus outbreak, the Vietnam government has announced.

The decision came after the number of persons infected with coronavirus in Italy has increased to 2,502, while 52 of them have died so far, Deputy Prime Minister Vu Duc Dam revealed at a meeting of the national steering committee, VisaGuide.World reports.

“The government of Vietnam has decided to temporarily suspend visa exemption for citizens from Italy from March 3 amid fast-rising COVID-19 infections in the European country,” the Vietnam government announced in a statement.

Deputy Prime Minister of Vietnam Vu Duc Dam said that even though Vietnam banned from entering nationals of several countries where coronavirus has spread, Vietnam can not close its doors to the world thus it’s important to take the necessary measures and take the situation under control.

“Whether the source of infection is discovered or not, it is important to quickly quarantine and treat the infected patients and those with close contact to prevent the disease from spreading,” he added.

Due to the spreading of coronavirus, Vietnam also announced that visa-free travel for nationals of South Korea will be suspended.
Majority of flights carrying passengers from South Korea have been suspended according to the Civil Aviation Administration of Vietnam (CAV).

As yet, in Vietnam are marked 16 cases of coronavirus infection. All of these cases have been successfully cured and released from the medical treatment at the hospitals.

Since February 13, there are no new cases of the coronavirus, Vietnam steering committee informs. So far, there have been more than 94,000 persons infected with coronavirus worldwide, 3,220 of them have died. The majority number of cases have been registered in mainland China.

By now, Vietnam has a unilateral visa exemption program for Italy that allows Italians to enter Vietnam without the need to obtain a visa first.

Countries included in the Vietnam visa waiver program are the UK, Germany, Sweden, Spain, South Korea, Russia, France, Finland, Norway, Japan, Denmark and Belarus.

Did you find this page helpful?
Yes No
Scroll to Top