VisaGuide » Europe » Switzerland Visa » Switzerland Visa Fees
Complete list of Switzerland visa application fees

Those who are not exempt from visa requirements need to apply for the appropriate visa if they want to enter Switzerland. Anyone who applies for a visa needs to pay a non-refundable visa fee.

You pay this fee at the Swiss embassy/consulate in which you submit your visa application in the currency which the Swiss embassy/consulate has set.

The Swiss visa fees are as follows:

Swiss Visa fees for short-stay visas

Because the short-stay visa for Switzerland is a Schengen visa, it means that the fees are the same as in all the other Schengen countries.

Visa CategoryVisa Fee
Children 6-12 years of ageEUR 35
Children under 6 years of ageFree
Nationals from, Georgia, Kosovo, Russia, and UkraineEUR 35
Family members of EU/EEA nationalsFree
Researchers traveling for research purposesFree
Students/teachers on a school tripFree
Holders of diplomatic, official or service passports traveling for official purposesFree

Swiss visa fees for national visas

The Swiss national visa fees are similar to the Schengen visa fees.

Because the fees are paid as per the currency set by the Swiss embassy/consulate, when converted, the fees may fluctuate by +/- €5.

As such, for the majority of countries, the Swiss national visa fees are set at €80 for adults and EUR 35 for children between 6 and 12 years of age (+/- €5 in both categories). For children under six years of age, the Swiss national visa is free of charge.

Exemptions from the standard Swiss national visa fees

CountryAdultsChildren 6-12 years of ageChildren under 6 years of age
AzerbaijanAZN 70 (EUR 36)FreeFree
IranIRR 9’900’000.00 (EUR 263.63)IRR 5’800’000.00 (EUR 154.45)Free
MadagascarMGA 195’000 (EUR 47)MGA 114’000  (EUR 31)Free
NigeriaNGN 25’200.00 (EUR 72)NGN 14’800.00 (EUR 42)Free
Persons living in the Occupied Palestinian TerritoryNIS 300.00 (EUR 73)NIS 180 (EUR 44)Free
SeychellesMGA 195’000 (EUR 47)MGA 114’000  (EUR 31)Free
TurkmenistanAZN 70 (EUR 36)FreeFree

In addition, some countries allow students or family members of Swiss/EU/EFTA citizens to apply free of charge.

Students from the following countries are exempt from a Swiss national visa fee:

  • Algeria
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Austria, Belgium
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Croatia, Czech Republic
  • Dominican Republic
  • Haiti, Hungary
  • Kuwait
  • Liechtenstein
  • Luxembourg
  • Netherlands
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Taiwan
  • Thailand
  • USA

Spouses and children of Swiss/EU/EFTA citizens living in the following countries are exempt from a Swiss national visa fee:

  • Australia
  • Barbados
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Suriname
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • USA
  • Venezuela

Keep in mind:

Depending on the country, additional fees may apply for shipment of documents (postage fees) between the Swiss cantonal authorities and the Swiss representation in your country.

Some countries may also accept only the correct amount, and will not give any change back. So, be sure to go prepared.

The Swiss embassy/consulate in your country has the right to adapt the fees depending on the  exchange rate fluctuations.

Did you find this page helpful?
Yes No
Scroll to Top