Who Needs a Spain Airport Transit Visa?

You may need a Spain Airport Transit Visa if you need to stop in Spain in order to take another flight to your non-Schengen destination. Nationality is the defining factor in this regard.

As a member country of the Schengen Area, Spain applies the Airport Transit Visa regime to all countries listed under the Schengen Airport visa regime. These countries are as follows:

  • Afghanistan
  • Bangladesh
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Ghana
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Somalia
  • Sri Lanka

In addition, Spain has added some other countries to this regime, the nationals of which need a visa to transit through its airports. These countries are as follows:

  • Cameroon
  • Côte D’Ivoire
  • Cuba
  • Djibouti
  • Gambia
  • Guinea
  • Guinea Bissau
  • Jordan
  • Liberia
  • Mali
  • Sierra Leona
  • Syria
  • Togo

Holder of diplomatic passports, residence permits issued by Schengen member countries and a few other categories may be exempt from this requirement, despite being a national of one of the countries listed above.

Who Needs a Spain Short-Stay Visa?

A Spain short-stay visa, also known as a Schengen Visa, permits you to stay in Spain for a maximum of 90 days, within 180 days. You will be exempt from this requirement only if you are a national of the 62 countries under the Schengen visa-free regime.

Note that if you have previously been rejected from entering the Schengen territory visa-free, despite being a national of one of these countries, you will need to obtain a Schengen visa in order to be eligible to enter to Spain.

Who Needs a Spain Long-Stay Visa?

All world citizens that need to work, study for more than 90 days, or want to move to Spain, will need to obtain a Spanish long-stay visa.

Only the nationals of the following are exempt from such a requirement:

  • European Union member countries
  • Norway
  • Iceland
  • Liechtenstein
  • Switzerland