VisaGuide » Europe » Schengen Visa » Who Needs a Visa?
List of countries whose citizens require a Schengen Visa to travel to Schengen countries, who is exempt from such requirements, where can you travel with a Schengen visa

Who Needs a Schengen Visa?

If you are from one of the countries below, you must apply for a visa before you travel to one of the Schengen States:

AfghanistanGabonNorth Korea
AlgeriaGambiaNorthern Mariana’s
AzerbaijanGuinea-BissauPapua New Guinea
BeninIranSao Tome And Principe
BhutanIraqSaudi Arabia
BotswanaJordanSierra Leone
Burkina FasoKazakhstanSomalia
Burma/MyanmarKenyaSouth Africa
BurundiKosovaSri Lanka
Cape VerdeLaosSwaziland
Central African RepublicLebanonSyria
Cote D’ivoireMalawiTogo
Dem. Rep. Of CongoMaliTunisia
Dominican RepublicMongoliaTurkmenistan
Equatorial GuineaNamibiaVietnam

*Since the EU has partially abolished the visa-free travel agreement with Vanuatu, only Vanuatuan nationals holding ordinary passports issued before May 25, 2015, can enter the Schengen Area visa-free.

Who Can Travel to Schengen Without a Visa?

If you are from one of the following countries/territories, you can travel through Europe for up to 90 days without applying for a Schengen Visa:

Antigua And BarbudaArgentina
BarbadosBosnia And Herzegovina*
BrazilBrunei Darussalam
ColombiaCosta Rica
DominicaEl Salvador
North Macedonia*Georgia*
Vatican City StateHonduras
Marshall IslandsMauritius
Montenegro*New Zealand
San MarinoSeychelles
Solomon IslandsSouth Korea
St Kitts And NevisSt Lucia
St Vincent And The GrenadinesTrinidad And Tobago
United Arab EmiratesUnited States Of America
VenezuelaUnited Kingdom

Who Needs a Visa to Transit in Schengen?

If you are from one of the countries listed below, you must have a visa when passing through the international transit area of an airport in any of the Schengen States:

  • Afghanistan
  • Bangladesh
  • Democratic Republic Of The Congo
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Ghana
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Somalia
  • Sri Lanka

Citizens from the following countries need a visa only when transiting in specific Schengen States, as listed:

  • Algeria – Czech Republic
  • Angola – France
  • Armenia – Czech Republic
  • Bolivia – France
  • Cameroon – Greece, Spain, France
  • Central African Republic – France
  • Chad – Czech Republic, France
  • Congo – Greece, Spain, France
  • Côte d’Ivoire – Spain, France
  • Cuba – Czech Republic, Spain, France, Netherlands, Poland
  • Djibouti – Spain
  • Dominican Republic – Belgium, France
  • Egypt – Czech Republic
  • Gambia – Spain
  • Guinea – Belgium, Spain, France, Netherlands, Portugal
  • Guinea Bissau – Belgium, Spain, Netherlands
  • Haiti – France, Spain
  • India – Czech Republic, Germany, Spain, France
  • Jordan – Germany
  • Lebanon – Czech Republic, Germany
  • Liberia – Spain
  • Libya – Czech Republic
  • Mali – Czech Republic, Germany, Spain, France
  • Mauritania – Czech Republic, France
  • Nepal – Belgium, Netherlands
  • Niger – Czech Republic
  • Philippines – France
  • Palestinians – Belgium, Czechia, France, Spain
  • Sierra Leone – France, the Netherlands, Spain
  • Syria – Austria, Belgium, Czechia, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, the Netherlands, Norway, Spain, Switzerland
  • Togo – France, Spain
  • Yemen – Belgium, Czechia, France, Spain

Exemptions from Schengen Airport Transit Visa

You may be exempt from holding an Airport Transit Visa when travelling through Schengen if:

  • You already have a valid Schengen visa.
  • You have a valid residence permit issued by an EU or EEA Member State.
  • You have a valid visa issued by an EU or EEA Member State, Canada, Japan or the United States.
  • You have a valid residence permit issued by the Principality of Andorra, Canada, Japan, Republic of San Marino, or the United States.
  • You are a family member of an EU, EEA or Swiss citizen.
  • You have a diplomatic passport.
  • You are a flight crew member national of a contracting party to the Chicago Convention on International Civil Aviation.

Do UK Citizens Need a Schengen Visa?

No, they do not. UK citizens can travel to any of the Schengen Area countries for up to 90 days in a 180-day period for tourism, business, and other short-term purposes.

Do Americans Need Visas for Europe?

American citizens do not need a visa to travel to Europe for up to 90 days within a 180-day period for tourism or business purposes. However, for long-term study or work, Americans do have to apply for the corresponding visa and/or residence permit.

Do Green Card Holders Travelling to Europe Need a Visa?

A Green Card does not give you visa-free access to Europe. If you are from a country who ordinarily needs a Schengen Visa, then you must apply for one before travelling, even if you have a US Green Card.

Even though Schengen States are not included, with your Green Card you can travel to Canada, Mexico, and certain other European countries.

Do I Need a Schengen Visa if I Already Have a Residence Permit from a Schengen Country?

No, you do not. If you already have a residence permit issued by a Schengen State, then you are free to move to all other Member States without a visa for up to 90 days in a 180-day period.

Are Family Members of EU/EEA Citizens Exempt From the Schengen Visa Regime?

No they are not. Non-EU family members (spouse, kids) of EU/EEA citizens must have a valid Schengen Visa to travel along with their EU/EEA national family member – unless they are from a country with a visa exemption.

Marriage or family relationship to an EU/EEA national does not grant you visa-free status to the EU.

Did you find this page helpful?
Yes No
Scroll to Top