VisaGuide » Europe » Ireland Visa » Who Needs a Visa?
List of countries whose citizens need to apply for a visa to Ireland

Ireland receives a high amount of tourists every year, despite its small size. That’s due to the lush greenery all around, who gave it the epithet the “Emerald Isle”, as well as the countless historical sites and picturesque cities.

If you are thinking of visiting Dublin or one of the country’s 30,000 castles but found yourself wondering, “Do I need a visa for Ireland” this article will clear your doubts.

Do I Need a Visa for Ireland?

Whether or not you need a visa to travel to Ireland depends on your nationality.

Ireland is a member state of the EU and EEA, and as such, any foreign national who is a national of one of the countries included in those agreements are exempt from holding a visa for Ireland.

There are also other countries who are not in the EU or EEA, but whose nationals have been granted an exemption from Irish visas.

Then, there are countries who have not been granted Irish visa exemption, and whose nationals will have to go through the process of applying for an Irish visa before they can travel to Ireland.

Keep in mind:

Unlike in most countries, there are no differences regarding visa requirements based on short-stay visas or long stay visas. If you need an Ireland visa, you will have to apply for one regardless of whether you will be staying in the country short-term (less than 90 days)  or long-term (over 90 days).

In addition, the Ireland visa is simply a pre-entry requirement. It allows the holder to travel to Ireland, but once you land, the immigration authorities decide whether to grant you permission to enter. Even if you are from a non-EU/EEA country that is exempt from Ireland visas, you will still have to register with the immigration authorities upon arrival.

Countries That Need an Ireland visa

You need to apply for a visa before traveling to Ireland if you are a national from one of the following countries:

BelarusBeninBhutanBosnia and Herzegovina
Burkina FasoBurma/MyanmarBurundiCambodia
CameroonCape VerdeCentral African RepublicChad
ChinaColombiaComorosCongo (Brazzaville)
Côte d’IvoireCubaDemocratic Republic of CongoDjibouti
Dominican RepublicEcuadorEgyptEquatorial Guinea
EritreaEthiopiaFaroe IslandsGabon
Marshall IslandsMauritaniaMauritiusMicronesia
NigeriaNorth KoreaNorth MacedoniaOman
PakistanPalauPapua New GuineaPeru
Sao Tome and PrincipeSaudi ArabiaSenegalSerbia
Sierra LeoneSomaliaSouth SudanSri Lanka
State of PalestineSudanSurinameSyria
TajikistanTanzaniaThailandTimor Leste

Countries who are exempt from an Ireland visa

You do not have to apply for an Ireland visa if you are:

Andorra Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Australia
Bahamas Barbados Belize Bolivia
Botswana Brazil Brunei Canada
Chile Costa Rica Dominica El Salvador
Fiji Guyana Honduras Hong Kong (Special Administrative Region)
Israel Japan Kiribati Lesotho
Macau (Special Administrative Region) Malaysia Maldives Mexico
Monaco Nauru New Zealand Nicaragua
Vanuatu Panama Paraguay Saint Kitts and Nevis
Saint Lucia Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino
Seychelles Singapore Solomon Islands South Africa
South Korea Swaziland Switzerland Taiwan
Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tuvalu United Arab Emirates
United States of America Uruguay Vatican City  


Countries that need an Ireland Transit Visa

If you are from one of the countries listed below, you need to be in possession of a valid Ireland transit visa in order to change travel means while on your way to another destination.

Afghanistan Albania Cuba Democratic Republic of Congo
Eritrea Ethiopia* Ghana Georgia
Iran Iraq Lebanon Moldova
Nigeria Somalia Sri Lanka Ukraine

*If you are a national of Ethiopia, and you are transiting through Ireland from Ethiopia on your way to the USA or Canada (and you have a valid visa for those countries), you do not need a Ireland Transit visa.

The Ireland Visa Waiver Programme

Within the Ireland Visa Waiver Programme, nationals from the countries listed below can enter Ireland with a UK visa, provided it is still valid and they have been granted leave to remain in the UK for up to 180 days.

BahrainBelarusBosnia and HerzegovinaIndia
The People’s Republic of ChinaQatarRussian FederationSaudi Arabia
United Arab EmiratesUzbekistan  

British-Irish Visa Scheme

Through the British-Irish Visa Scheme, nationals from China and India can travel to Ireland without an Ireland visa if they are in possession of a valid UK visa, and vice-versa.

Presently, only Chinese nationals who are living in China and Indian nationals who are living in India are included in the scheme.

More information on the Visa Waiver Programme and British-Irish Visa Scheme can be found here.

Did you find this page helpful?
Yes No
Scroll to Top