VisaGuide » Europe » Greece Visa » Who Needs a Visa?
List of countries whose citizens need a visa for Greece

Who Needs a Greek Airport Transit Visa?

Nationals of 25 world countries will need to get a visa in order to transit through Greece, to reach their non-Schengen destination country.

If you are a national of any of the following countries, then you will be unable to transit through a Greek airport without a visa:

  • Afghanistan
  • Bangladesh
  • Cameroon
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Republic of the Congo
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Ghana
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Somalia
  • Sri Lanka
  • Sudan
  • Syria

Even if you are a national of one of the countries listed, you may still be exempt from the Transit visa requirement if you belong to one of the categories explained in our article on Schengen Transit Visa.

In addition, remember that if you need to transit through Greece, plus another Schengen airport, i.e. Munich airport, within the same trip, then you will need to apply for a Schengen visa instead.

Even if your Transit visa says multiple entry, it still doesn’t entitle you to transit through two Schengen airports within the same trip.

Who Needs a Greek Schengen Visa?

If you are planning to travel to Greece to stay here for up to three months within a period of six months, then you have a good chance that you are exempt from the visa requirement.

There are two main conditions you must meet, in order to be able to travel to Greece without a visa.

Please note that if you have previously attempted to travel to any Schengen country visa-free and you have been rejected despite meeting these two conditions, you will then need to apply for a Greek Schengen visa.

Who Needs a Greek Long-Stay Visa?

While the nationals of a good number of countries are exempt from getting a visa to Greece for short-stays, the case is quite different when it comes to Greek long stay visas.

These visas, which enable the holder to enter Greece and stay here for about a year or even more, are a must for most of the world citizens wishing to move to Greece. Only the nationals of the following European nations are exempt.

  • European Union Member States
  • Iceland
  • Liechtenstein
  • Norway
  • Switzerland
Did you find this page helpful?
Yes No
Scroll to Top