VisaGuide » Africa
Information about countries in Africa

Africa is the second-largest and most populated continent after Asia. It covers around 6% of Earth’s total surface, and it’s the only continent that stretches across the four hemispheres. Considered the oldest mainland, it’s widely believed to be the home of the first human. The continent is also home to the largest desert globally— the Sahara. 

In terms of geography, Africa is divided into five major territories:

  • North Africa
  • East Africa
  • Central Africa
  • South Africa
  • West Africa

Quick Facts About Africa

Here are some interesting facts about Africa:


30.3 million km²

Number of countries

54 (plus two de facto independencies)

Biggest country (by area)


Population (2021)

1.37 billion

Most populated country


Number of languages spoken

Over 2,000 languages across the continent 

Largest peninsula

Horn of Africa (Somalia, Ethiopia, Eritrea, and Djibouti)

Highest mountain 

Mount Kilimanjaro in Tanzania 

Longest river

Nile River

How Many Countries Are There in Africa?

Africa has 54 independent countries, which include the following:

CountryCapitalArea km2Population
AlgeriaAlgiers2,381,74044.6 million
AngolaLuanda1,246,70033.9 million
BeninPorto-Novo112,62012.4 million
BotswanaGaborone600,3702.3 million
Burkina FasoOuagadougou274,20021.4 million
BurundiGitega27,83012.2 million
CameroonYaounde475,44027.2 million
Cape VerdePraia4,033561.898
Central African RepublicBangui622,9844.9 million
ChadN'Djamena1,284,00016.9 million
Democratic Republic of the CongoKinshasa2,345,41092.3 million
DjiboutiDjibouti23,0001 million
EgyptCairo1,001,450101.4 million
Equatorial GuineaMalabo28,0511.4 million
EritreaAsmara121,3206 million
EswatiniMbabane17,3631.1 million
EthiopiaAddis Ababa1,127,127117.8 million
GabonLibreville267,6672.2 million
GhanaAccra239,46031.7 million
GuineaConakry245,85713.4 million
Guinea-BissauBissau36,1202 million
Ivory CoastAbidjan,322,46027 million
KenyaNairobi582,65054.9 million
LesothoMaseru30,3552,1 million
LiberiaMonrovia111,3705.1 million
LibyaTripoli1,759,5406.9 million
MadagascarAntananarivo587,04028.4 million
MalawiLilongwe118,48019.6 million
MaliBamako1,240,00020 million
MauritaniaNouakchott1,030,7004.7 million
MauritiusPort Louis2,0401.2 million
MoroccoRabat446,55037.3 million
MozambiqueMaputo801,59032.1 million
NamibiaWindhoek825,4182.5 million
NigerNiamey1,267,00025.1 million
NigeriaAbuja923,768211.4 million
Republic of the CongoBrazzaville342,0005.6 million
RwandaKigali26,33813.2 million
Sao Tome and Pri­ncipeSao Tome1,001223,368
SenegalDakar196,19017.1 million
Sierra LeoneFreetown71,7408.1 million
SomaliaMogadishu637,65716.3 million
South AfricaBloemfontein, Cape Town, Pretoria1,219,91260 million
South SudanJuba619,74511.3 million
SudanKhartoum1,861,48444.9 million
TanzaniaDodoma945,08761.4 million
The GambiaBanjul11,3002.4 million
TogoLome56,7858.4 million
TunisiaTunis163,61011.9 million
UgandaKampala236,04047.1 million
ZambiaLusaka752,61418.9 million
ZimbabweHarare390,58015 million

Somaliland, and Western Sahara, are two de facto independent territories that are yet to be fully recognized as sovereign states in Africa. 

Map of African Countries 

Languages Spoken in Africa

According to UNESCO, more than 2,000 languages are recognized across the continent, but the following languages are the most spoken in Africa: 

LanguageTerritoryNumber of speakers
SwahiliTanzania100-150 million
The Democratic Republic of Congo
ArabicEgypt100- 120 million
FrenchGabon100-120 million
Côte d'Ivoire
Sao Tome and Principe
HausaBenin50 million
Burkina Faso
YorubaNigeria40 million
OromoEthiopia30 million
IgboNigeria30 million
Equatorial Guinea
PortugueseAngola14 million
Cape Verde
Sao Tome and Principe
Equatorial Guinea
ZuluSouth Africa10 million
ShonaZimbabwe10 million

Best Countries to Visit in Africa 

Here are some of the most visited countries in Africa: 

  • Egypt. Home to the famous Pyramids, Egypt saw around 13 million visitors in 2019. It has a lot to offer to tourists starting from the Nile, Valley of the Kings, and the Saqqara complex. Not to mention you can explore the birthplace of one of the oldest civilizations in the world.
  • Morocco. Similar to Egypt, in 2019, Morocco saw over 12 million visitors. The foreign visitors were mainly from Europe and the US, and the most visited destinations included Casablanca, Fez, Marrakech, and Rabat. 
  • Namibia. Located in South Africa, Namibia sees over a million visitors annually. It’s mostly known for its ecotourism which allows visitors to experience the wildlife in the country.
  • Algeria. With 2.4 million visitors in 2019, Algeria is another famous country in Africa. It has plenty to offer, and one of the most attractive structures in the country is the Sahara Desert. Moreover, in Algeria, you will find Constantine, known for its stunning bridges. 
  • Tanzania. This African country sees over a million visitors each year, where in only 2019, the number of tourists reached 1.5 million. Tanzania has many national parks and several UNESCO heritage sites that are very attractive to tourists. Additionally, in Zanzibar (an archipelago in Tanzania), you can explore some of the best beaches in Africa.

Most Popular Tourist Destinations in Africa 

Africa has plenty to offer to tourists, but some of the most popular attractions include:

  • Serengeti National Park. This national park is located in Tanzania and is a World Heritage Site. The park is home to over 2 million animals in Africa, and it’s open to the public for daily tours or even weekly stays. It’s also where the Great Migration happens— a yearly event in which the wildebeest migrates from Serengeti to Masai Mara reserve in Kenya.
  • Lake Nakuru. The lake is found in the Lake Nakuru National Park in Kenya— one of the most visited parks in the region. It serves as a sanctuary for many endangered species. However, the lake is inhabited by the pink flamingos, which cover the entire area, and from above, you can only see a pink blob instead of the lake. 
  • Table Mountain. Located in Cape Town, South Africa, Table Mountain is the most visited site in that region, with 4.2 million visitors each year. Unlike other high peaks, the mountain is called a “table mountain” due to its flat top. Moreover, it has diverse flora and fauna, and any visitor can explore the territory via cableway or by just hiking up the mountain. 
  • Okavango Delta. Known as the “Jewel of the Kalahari,” the Okavango Delta is a must-see phenomenon in Africa. This water sanctuary grows to double its size during the rainy season— becoming the world’s largest freshwater ecosystem. Located in Botswana, it’s home to several species of wildlife and new species undiscovered by science before, so you have the opportunity to explore one of nature’s greatest wonders.
  • Pyramids of Egypt. There are over 100 identified pyramids located in Egypt— the most famous being the Giza Pyramids. These buildings are some of the oldest man-made structures, and one of them — the Pyramid of Khufu— is a part of the world’s seven wonders. 
  • Lake Retba. Found in Senegal, Retba is named after its unique pink color. Because of the high salt content, the algae “Dunaliella salina” thrives, making the lake pink and sometimes even blood-red. 

Getting a Visa to Visit Africa

Every country in Africa regulates its visa policy, so to visit the continent, you need to apply for an entry permit for your destination country— see below how to get a visa for Africa: 

Did you find this page helpful?
Yes No
Scroll to Top